Miror B Posted October 20, 2012 Report Share Posted October 20, 2012 Monster? Not that I can think of. Double Summon and Ultimate Offering are the only obvious answers.The Hunders can stack since they're ignition effects that Normal Summon on resolution rather than giving an extra normal Summon.Admins at DN are still up in the air since it's kind of unclear as to whether Sombres summons on resolution or allows an extra summon, but I think the general concensus is what you said. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 20, 2012 Report Share Posted October 20, 2012 If there were an effect that would let me Normal Summon a monster without a Tribute, and I use that effect to Normal Summon Majestic Mech - Ohka, would it destroy itself? As long as you are not using Majestic Mech - Ohka's own condition to Normal Summon it without a Tribute, it will not send itself to the Graveyard. The Hunders can stack since they're ignition effects that Normal Summon on resolution rather than giving an extra normal Summon.Admins at DN are still up in the air since it's kind of unclear as to whether Sombres summons on resolution or allows an extra summon, but I think the general concensus is what you said. Being an Ignition or Trigger will make little difference to this. Both Pollux and Leonis are Continuous Effects that state "You can Normal Summon 1 "Constellar" monster in addition to your Normal Summon/Set." and their effects will overlap. Next, Constellar Sombres is an Ignition Effect (as its currently written anyway) which states, like the others, "You can Normal Summon 1 "Constellar" monster in addition to your Normal Summon/Set." Do note that Swap Frog, an Ignition Effect, will still only gain ONE Addition Normal Summon or Set, no matter how many times you activate its effect per turn because it specifically relates the "additional summon" to the "Normal Summon/Set" you are given as the rest of these cards do. Double Summon and Ultimate Offering make no association to the "Normal Summon/Set" you get per turn. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted October 20, 2012 Report Share Posted October 20, 2012 I know ignition effect means little, the actual point was Hunders summoning on resolution meaning they can stack.And yea as worded now the effect wouldn't stack, I'm just making the mention on the possibility of the guy who put that making a slightly incorrect translation. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
newhat Posted October 20, 2012 Report Share Posted October 20, 2012 Is it true that, for both the TCG and OCG, Optional Trigger Effects must always activate after Mandatory Trigger Effects by way of SEGOC? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted October 20, 2012 Report Share Posted October 20, 2012 Is it true that, for both the TCG and OCG, Optional Trigger Effects must always activate after Mandatory Trigger Effects by way of SEGOC?Mandatory effects always activate first, starting with the turn player. Unless priority is passed. In which case, the opponent can choose to activate their mandatory effect (but not optional) effect first. If they pass, you have to activate first. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agro Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 Is it true that, for both the TCG and OCG, Optional Trigger Effects must always activate after Mandatory Trigger Effects by way of SEGOC?Mandatory effects HAVE to activate. Optional effects can, but do not have to activate. If you HAVE to get the last cookie, and your friend can, but don't have to get the last cookie, guess who's getting the last cookie? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 Mandatory effects always activate first, starting with the turn player. Unless priority is passed. In which case, the opponent can choose to activate their mandatory effect (but not optional) effect first. If they pass, you have to activate first. Do not confuse Mandatory Trigger Effect that are in response to a Phase (such as "During the End Phase") vs other Mandatory Trigger Effects that have an otherwise specific timing. You cannot pass priority on a Mandatory Trigger Effect. You must activate it at whatever timing it has. If you attack with your Nimble Momonga into your opponent's Nimble Momonga and they destroy each other, yours as the turn player will activate as Chain Link #1. You cannot pass priority to let the opponent choose to activate their Ninble Momonga first. For Mandatory Triggers that activate over a specific time period (such as "During the Standby Phase", "End Phase" or "End Step of Battle Phase" sections), then yes, you can pass priority to the opponent to allow them to activate one of their Trigger Effects during such a Phase. Do note that during one of these periods of time, whether you activate Mandatory Triggers or Optional Triggers first are at your discretion because NONE of these trigger effects chain to each other. They all start their own Chain during those phases and can be activated in any order. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 Does "Blockman" count the turns of all players?For example, He is Summoned (1). Your opponent's turn (2). Your turn again (3).Or does he count only YOUR turns? Text seems to imply the latter, but it's like, 6 years old, and it's more believable to find an effect with the former. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 Does "Blockman" count the turns of all players?For example, He is Summoned (1). Your opponent's turn (2). Your turn again (3).Or does he count only YOUR turns? Text seems to imply the latter, but it's like, 6 years old, and it's more believable to find an effect with the former. Blockman will only count the controller's turns. It will not count the opponent's turns. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 Oh, I exchanged the words "former" and "latter" in there *self-facepalm* anyhow, thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miror B Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 Hypothetical!!!If I were to have a card that said "Target 1 card on the field; destroy it, then destroy 1 card you control (except this card)"And I have no cards on my field to destroy.Can I use it?I'd like to say no but rulings can be a ***** Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 Hypothetical!!!If I were to have a card that said "Target 1 card on the field; destroy it, then destroy 1 card you control (except this card)"And I have no cards on my field to destroy.Can I use it?I'd like to say no but rulings can be a ***** No. You cannot activate it unless you have one card that you control that you can legally attempt to destroy (including cards that are unaffected by the Spell/Trap/Monster Effects, or cannot be destroyed by card effects, but NOT including card effects that prevent all destruction such as cards protected by Imperial Custom (though of course you could destroy Imperial Custom in that case), and of course the card itself if its a non-permanent Spell or Trap card). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canadian Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 Scenario: I have just finished attacking over my opponent's Dragoon with Gem-Knight Garnet dealing my first 100 damage of the game. (We each have 1 S/T facedown at this time). I end my turn from there. At this moment, my opponent flips a facedown Abyssphere bringing out Abysslinde and then destroys it to which I say he cannot destroy it during the same End Phase. Naturally, he says that he activates it before my End Phase so I say "okay, then we're still in the Battle Phase" and flip my face-down Call of the Haunted to bring back my Gem-Knight Citrine and attack over his Abysslinde. At this time, he says that I cannot attack since he activated his Abyssphere during the end of my Main Phase 2 and that we are still in MP2 and not the Battle Phase, but I tell him I never entered my Main Phase 2. I went right from the Battle Phase to the End Phase. At this point, he says I can't freely skip over my Second Main Phase and then it turned into a stand off. I am allowed to go right from the Battle Phase to the End Phase, correct? And if my opponent activates a card during the end of the phase, I am allowed to respond while still being in the same phase, right? (much like veilering before entering the Battle Phase). This is why I waited to summon my Citrine anyways, because I knew he would try to summon a Megalo with Abysslinde and I was ready. Someone please back me up. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
newhat Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 I am allowed to go right from the Battle Phase to the End Phase, correct? No. You can go from Main Phase 1 to the End Phase if you wish to skip your Battle Phase, but you cannot go straight from your Battle Phase to the End Phase without entering your Main Phase 2. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canadian Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 :o That means the time I played Evilfusion on DN, I could have veiler'd his monster during the Second Main Phase and dropped BLS next turn for game!! He said I couldn't and I lost because I didn't have any Lights for my BLS. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 And if my opponent activates a card during the end of the phase, I am allowed to respond while still being in the same phase, right? (much like veilering before entering the Battle Phase). There is no such thing as "an End of a Phase". A phase (or part of one) ends only once both player's pass priority without activating anything. Otherwise, you stay within the same Phase. If you're want to End your Main Phase and pass priority to your opponent and that activate Effect Veiler, then both player's didn't pass priority to change phases. The Main Phase will still continue. If you're in the Battle Step, and want to move forward to the End Step of the Battle Phase, then both players still need to pass priority to move forward into the End Step. Otherwise, you stay in the Battle Step. Simply saying "I'm ending my Battle Phase (or other phase)" does not automatically move the game forward, no matter where it is in the game. The opponent must also agree to the change in Phase/Step by also passing priority. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 For clarification, since it apparently needs to be made a lot, when a card like Gozen Match and Rivalry of Warlords is activate, a player cannot attempt to summon a monster of a different type of cards they already control at the time the attempt would be made, correct? Thus stopping something like a tag-out by a Gladiator Beast to summon a monster not of its same Attribute/Type (depending on the card, and if they had no other target), and Rescue Rabbit. And a card like Vanity's Emptiness and Acid Golem prevent you from attempting to Special Summon, so you can't use Zephyros the Elite, Trap Eater, or Polymerization to get rid of the problem card? (In the case of Trap Eater, your opponent's card, and Zephyros your own). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ihop Posted October 21, 2012 Report Share Posted October 21, 2012 Precisely, for example you cannot Synchro/Xyz into another Attribute/Type either. For the second point the best example is that you can't tribute Fossil Dyna for Lava Golem. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 22, 2012 Report Share Posted October 22, 2012 Thus stopping something like a tag-out by a Gladiator Beast to summon a monster not of its same Attribute/Type (depending on the card, and if they had no other target) It is true that you cannot activate a GB swap effect AT ALL unless you have a legal target in the deck that can be swapped (due to Gozen Match/Rivalry of Warlords).. If you DO happen to have a legal target, then you can activate it, and if you no longer control any monsters when that GB resolves, then you may pull out a GB of any type/attribute. For example: I have Gladiator Beast Dimicari on the field along wtih Gozen Match. In order for me to activate Gladiator Beast Dimicari, I need to have a legal "Earth" Attribute monster in the deck that could be summoned at activation. If I do, then I can activate Dimicari and return it to the deck as the cost. Since Dimicari has returned to the Deck, during resolution when you're picking a monster to summon, I am no longer bound to the "Earth" Attribute since I no longer control any monsters of any attribute at this time. You will have to prove that you have a valid "Earth" Attribute monster in your Deck to validate the activation though (such as showing a GB Hoplomus for example, even if you aren't going to summon it.). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted October 22, 2012 Report Share Posted October 22, 2012 Alright, well that's a good confirmation. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coffee Black Posted October 24, 2012 Report Share Posted October 24, 2012 Can you use a Fusion substitute monster with Miracle Contact? At first I thought you couldn't since Miracle Contact technically doesn't fusion summon. But when looking at a card such as King of the Swamp, it doesn't say that it needs to be in a fusion summon to work. So now I don't really know. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted October 24, 2012 Report Share Posted October 24, 2012 Can you use a Fusion substitute monster with Miracle Contact? At first I thought you couldn't since Miracle Contact technically doesn't fusion summon. But when looking at a card such as King of the Swamp, it doesn't say that it needs to be in a fusion summon to work. So now I don't really know.It says "Fusion Material Monster". It is not a Fusion Material Monster unless it's used for a Fusion Summon. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coffee Black Posted October 24, 2012 Report Share Posted October 24, 2012 Sometimes that's not the case. I remember discussing Contact Fusions a while ago in this thread. Fusion Monsters that have to return monsters to the deck to be Special Summoned aren't technically Fusions Summoned, even though they have "fusion material monsters". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 24, 2012 Report Share Posted October 24, 2012 Can you use a Fusion substitute monster with Miracle Contact? At first I thought you couldn't since Miracle Contact technically doesn't fusion summon. But when looking at a card such as King of the Swamp, it doesn't say that it needs to be in a fusion summon to work. So now I don't really know. Miracle Contact uses "Fusion Material Monsters". You can use "Fusion Substitute Materials" for it. Hex-Sealed Fusions do not "Fusion Summon" monsters but allow you to use "Fusion Substitute Materials" for it, including itself. The only card that I can think of that does not seem to work this way is "Parallel World Fusion" as it is ruled that "This card can be used as a Fusion Substitute" cannot be applied while they are banished. It says "Fusion Material Monster". It is not a Fusion Material Monster unless it's used for a Fusion Summon. Monsters used for Contact Fusions are considered "Fusion Material Monsters". Gladiator Beast Tygerius cannot be used for Contact Fusions with other GBs. Monsters that cannot be used (due to Prohibition or Psi-Blocker) cannot be used for Contact Fusions. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeppeli Gyro Supreme Posted October 24, 2012 Report Share Posted October 24, 2012 Well, that's still a summon by a fusion condition, even if it's not a Fusion Summon. So it's essentially the same thing. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.