Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What happens when Evil Hero Dark Gaia attack a DEF position Karakuri Merchant Inashichi? Can Inashichi use it's effect after forced into ATK? I think it would miss the timing but I'm not sure

 

The attack was declared on a Defense Position Inashichi. You cannot activate the effect because Inashichi must be in ATK position at the moment the attack is declared.

 

If Inashichi is in Attack Position and Dark Gaia declared an attack, Inashichi activates as Chain Link #1 because it is mandatory vs Dark Gaia's Optional Trigger Effect. Even if Dark Gaia chained to it (due to other DEF position monsters on the opponent's field), his effect will resolve first, changing all DEF position monsters to ATK position. Then Inashichi would change itself to DEF position.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Okay, I'm building a random Deck involving Reptilianne Servant...

 

My Question: Would Reptilianne Servant (Or Spirit Reaper) be destroyed if Targeted by Safe Zone?

 

Yes. Safe Zone only protects from the opponent's effect. Your effects (like the Servant/Reaper you control) will still kill them.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" attacks "Ally of Justice Catastor", what happens?

 

This comes up a lot.

 

Grand Mole is an optional effect. Catastor is a mandatory effect.

 

As such, Catastor will ALWAYS be Chain Link 1, regardless of whose turn it is. Mole will be Link 2, and because chains resolve backwards, will ALWAYS resolve first.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can I chain Mystical Refpanel to Foolish Burial? If so, if I targeted my Penguin Knight. Would its effect activate?

 

You cannot. Refpanel can only work on cards that increase/decrease LP, allow draws, discard from a single player's hand, or affects an action the player can take the turn.

 

Foolish Burial affects the Deck, not a player.

 

Ruling: It cannot be Chained to Spells that would send cards from a player's Deck to the Graveyard, even if that Spell would do one of the above things.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Effect Veiler negates Solar Flare Dragon. Can Solar Flare Dragon still do 500 during the End Phase, or does Veiler hold that off?

 

Things get so confusing in regards to "End Phase" effects and how things like that resolve. There may be a more complicated answer that darkwolf would be able to explain, and I got confused back in regards to stuff like Mind Control vs RDA/Savage Colosseum.

 

Typically, Effect Veiler is treated as negating the effect until the End Phase is over.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Effect Veiler negates Solar Flare Dragon. Can Solar Flare Dragon still do 500 during the End Phase, or does Veiler hold that off?

 

The player who activated Veiler will decide.

 

Reasoning: During the End Phase, effects that last "until the End Phase"/"during the End Phase" will stop applying when the player who controls the effect stops applying them at some point during the End Phase. As usual, Turn Player has the priority to activate/resolve any of their effects that must handle during the End Phase (or Standby Phase or End Step of Battle Phase, or any Trigger Effect that can or must happen "during a Phase") before the opponent can. As I've associated this with "Double Dare" before, the turn player has the right to pass priority to the opponent to let them activate/resolve a card first. The opponent at that time can activate/resolve an effect or pass priority back. Once priority is "Double Dared" in this way, the Turn Player cannot pass again and must activate any effect that must activate during the End Phase (There is no Physical Challenge).

 

Assume you and your opponent only controls these two effects. Turn Player has to activate Solar Flare Dragon during the End Phase. It is currently negated by Veiler. The Turn Player can choose to activate it now while its negated, and lose the effect due to Veiler, or pass priority. If the player passes priority, the opponent (the controller of Veiler) has the right to now stop applying the effect of Veiler or to pass priority back. If the opponent stops applying veiler at this time, then Solar Flare Dragon can activate successfully and damage the opponent for 500 Damage. If the opponent passes priority back to the turn player, the turn player will have no choice but to activate their "Solar Flare Dragon" while negated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have a question about Chain Strike.

 

If I activate something like, Reckless Greed, then this, can I activate another Reckless Greed after?

 

If that works, I wouldn't be able to activate a third one, would I? I'm really unsure about this and want to be sure.

 

You can activate any number of Reckless Greeds afterwards. Chain Strike can only not be activated with 2 or more cards of the same name in the chain, it can still resolve and it won't be negated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have a question about Chain Strike.

 

If I activate something like, Reckless Greed, then this, can I activate another Reckless Greed after?

 

If that works, I wouldn't be able to activate a third one, would I? I'm really unsure about this and want to be sure.

 

Chain Strike and the other "Chain Link" cards with the line about multiple cards only apply to its activation. It will still resolve just fine if cards with the same name are added to the chain afterwards.

 

Also, the Chain Link cards don't apply to a first copy of itself. You can chain 2 "Chain Strikes" in the same chain.

 

If you flip Skill Drain on #17 after it gains twice, is the gain negated?

 

Yes.

 

The pattern I've seen is that if an effect that modifies stats only affects itself (Number 17, Spore, etc), negating it after resolution wipes the changes clean.

 

But if it can affect another monster, even if it chooses itself (Sirroco, Number 20, Gale), the changes linger even if the effect is negated later.

 

If Double-Edged Sword Technique brings back Legendary Six Samurai - Shi En & Legendary Six Samurai - Kageki; can Shi En protect itself from destruction with Sword Technique by targeting Kageki even though they'd both be destroyed?

 

No. This was asked earlier. If multiple Samurai would be destroyed by the same effect, you cannot destroy one of the other Samurai that will be destroyed as a substitute.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...