Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

Okay, here's a question, because the rulings I found are conflicting in an ironic fashion.

 

If you activate Ultimate Offering, you pay 500 as the cost of activation, and you Normal Summon at resolution.

 

- Can the Normal Summon be Solemned by either Warning or Judgment?

 

According to Wiki, the OCG allows it and the TCG does not. I'm confused.

 

I believe the differences are as follows:

 

In the TCG, the "Normal Summoned" is considered part of the effect of "Ultimate Offering" or in the case of Formula Synchron as part of the effect of "Formula Synchron"/"Urgent Tuning". It is treated as "Ultimate Offering" performing the Normal Summon or "Formula Synchron"/"Urgent Tuning" performing the Synchro Summon.

 

In the OCG, as the English text says, allows YOU to perform a "Normal Summon", or in regards to "Formula Synchron"/"Urgent Tuning" which allow YOU to perform a Synchro Summon. These cards don't do the "Normal Summon" or "Synchro Summon" for you, but only grants you the ability to perform the Summon. Provided these cards aren't at Chain Link #2 or higher (as the rest of the chain would need to resolve so Solemn Judgment, etc is unplayable at that moment, meaning it misses the timing), you are able to use cards like Solemn Judgment/Solemn Warning/Thunder King Rai-Oh, etc to negate the Special Summon directly (or other cards that can negate Normal Summons, such as Warning/Forced Back).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you don't reveal anything with Shooting Star Dragon's first effect, can it still declare one attack?

 

What if you choose not to activate the effect at all?

 

Then, can you use the negation effect during your opponent's turn as well?

 

If you use the Tuner-revealing effect, its MAXIMUM number of attacks that turn is equal to the number of Tuners. If you reveal 0, it can't attack.

 

If you don't use the effect, it has 1 attack, as all monsters do barring effects that don't allow it.

 

And yes, the negation effect is a Quick Effect and can be used during either player's Turn.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@Evil Fusion:

 

I have a question about Ruling on a Theoretical card that I'll probably need to fix...

 

Exploding Thyself

Normal Spell

Lore:

Roll 6 six-sided die and apply the following effect: Total Rolled Amount Below 30: You lose the match. Total Rolled Amount Above 30: Both player's Life Points are reduced to 0.

 

So, what happens if its rolled to 30, does that still mean end game for yourself?

 

Someone else made it, I was just curious....

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@Evil Fusion:

 

I have a question about Ruling on a Theoretical card that I'll probably need to fix...

 

Exploding Thyself

Normal Spell

Lore:

Roll 6 six-sided die and apply the following effect: Total Rolled Amount Below 30: You lose the match. Total Rolled Amount Above 30: Both player's Life Points are reduced to 0.

 

So, what happens if its rolled to 30, does that still mean end game for yourself?

 

Someone else made it, I was just curious....

 

The person who made it was stupid because they forgot to add an effect for 30.

 

i.e. nothing happens if it rolls to 30.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@Evil Fusion:

 

I have a question about Ruling on a Theoretical card that I'll probably need to fix...

 

Exploding Thyself

Normal Spell

Lore:

Roll 6 six-sided die and apply the following effect: Total Rolled Amount Below 30: You lose the match. Total Rolled Amount Above 30: Both player's Life Points are reduced to 0.

 

So, what happens if its rolled to 30, does that still mean end game for yourself?

 

Someone else made it, I was just curious....

 

With that exact wording? 30 is the only value that has no effect whatsoever, as you cannot apply either effect.

 

Reminds me of my programming class.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I keep going back and forth on this...

Can you Veiler Stardust/Rabbit, etc. and have them stay negated when they leave the field?

 

If you manage to negate them BEFORE they activate their effects and Tribute/Banish themselves as a cost, yes, they stay negated.

 

Veiler, Forbidden Chalice, and other effects that simply state "the effect(s) are negated" are negating any effects that ACTIVATE or APPLY on the Field. If it activates on the Field, it will be negated, even if it resolves elsewhere such as the Grave, Banish Zone, or Deck (GBs)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I've been testing out weird cards recently, and an odd situation came up.

 

My opponent has a spellcaster on the field with Secret Village of the Spellcasters active. I have a Masked Beast Des Gardius on the field. I attack and my opponent plays Mirror Force, triggering Gardius' effect. Gardius says that it equips Mask of Remnants to a monster, not activate it, so I think it resolves normally. But I could easily be wrong; can someone give their two cents?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...