Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Assuming that your Evigishki Zealgigas uses its effect to draw a card, reveals a Gishki monster, and then attempts to return Machina Fortress to the deck, does your opponent get to discard a card from your hand?

 

The current wording of Zealgigas does not target, but instead designates a card during resolution, so no, Fortress will not activate.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Assuming that your Evigishki Zealgigas uses its effect to draw a card, reveals a Gishki monster, and then attempts to return Machina Fortress to the deck, does your opponent get to discard a card from your hand?

No/ Zeal Gigas does not target, as you select which card to shuffle into the deck during the effect's resolution.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Will Verz Castor be able to activate the effects of Steelswarms if he is tributed for the summon one a level 5 or higher one?

 

No.

 

For the record, Steelswarm are known as "Inverz" in the OCG.

 

An Inverz is a Verz, but a Verz is not an Inverz. Tributing a Verz is not the same as tributing a Steelswarm, but Tributing a Steelswarm IS the same as Tributing a Verz. Cards that support "Verz" will also support the Steelswarm, but cards that support Steelswarm will not necessarily support Verz.

 

Similarly, an Evigishki is a Gishki, but Gishkis aren't Evigishki.

 

Lavalvals are Lavals, but Lavals aren;t Lavalvals. Etc.

 

Kind of reminds me of the whole "square" vs "rectangle" thing way back in grade school. All squares are rectangles, but not all rectangles are squares. Or something like that.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No.

 

For the record, Steelswarm are known as "Inverz" in the OCG.

 

An Inverz is a Verz, but a Verz is not an Inverz. Tributing a Verz is not the same as tributing a Steelswarm, but Tributing a Steelswarm IS the same as Tributing a Verz. Cards that support "Verz" will also support the Steelswarm, but cards that support Steelswarm will not necessarily support Verz.

 

Similarly, an Evigishki is a Gishki, but Gishkis aren't Evigishki.

 

Lavalvals are Lavals, but Lavals aren;t Lavalvals. Etc.

 

Kind of reminds me of the whole "square" vs "rectangle" thing way back in grade school. All squares are rectangles, but not all rectangles are squares. Or something like that.

 

Ah i figured as much. Thanks.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can you use Chain Material with Armityle or XYZ - Dragon Cannon?

 

No. Chain Material only works when you Fusion Summon that turn. Contact Fusions such as the Glad Beast, Neos Fusions, and XYZ/Armityle are NOT Fusion Summons.

 

Those Fusion monsters have an alternate Summoning Condition, even though they are Fusion Monsters and are in the Extra Deck. Special Summoning by the method on the card is considered properly Summoning them, and they can be SSed by other means afterwards (unless otherwise restricted).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You have Librarian out and 0 cards in hand when you Synchro Summon Ragin. Do you draw for Librarian first, resulting in a hand of two or, does Ragin go first, so you have three?

 

Librarian is a mandatory effect and Ragin is optional. Librarian will be Chain Link 1, and Ragin will be Chain Link 2.

 

Resolving backwards, you will draw until you have 2 in hand for Ragin, and then draw 1 for Librarian. You will have 3 in hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Because crazy mod and crazy opponent kept on going on about it.

 

Normal Summon Lyla > Opponent BtHs > Assuming I activate Lyla's effect, will it still resolve?

 

Because their reasoning was that Lyla MUST be in Defense Position for the destruction effect to resolve.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Because crazy mod and crazy opponent kept on going on about it.

 

Normal Summon Lyla > Opponent BtHs > Assuming I activate Lyla's effect, will it still resolve?

 

Because their reasoning was that Lyla MUST be in Defense Position for the destruction effect to resolve.

 

No, it won't.

 

Lyla switches to Defense Position as part of the resolution of its effect. If it can't switch for any reason, such as already being in Defense (E-Con) or being off the Field (Bottomless), it won't resolve further.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

 

No, it won't.

 

Lyla switches to Defense Position as part of the resolution of its effect. If it can't switch for any reason, such as already being in Defense (E-Con) or being off the Field (Bottomless), it won't resolve further.

 

So, I'm assuming the destruction effect resolves after the Defense Position here, and they don't resolve simultaneously?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, I'm assuming the destruction effect resolves after the Defense Position here, and they don't resolve simultaneously?

 

Even when effects resolve "simultaneously", that's merely in regards to response timing. Effects are performed in the order they are printed on the card. If she cannot shift into Defense Position by her own effect, it will not destroy as the previous step could not be performed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What happens if Catastor attacks something like Spirit Reaper, or something equipped with Mist Body?

 

Catastor destroys by an effect. If the monster is a non-DARK, so long as it can still be destroyed by an effect, the monster is destroyed. Being indestructible by battle doesn't affect whether Catastor's effect work.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...