Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

So, If I made a card that stated you have to open a booster pack, would it be usable in tournements if Konami printed it?

Well, all printed cards are legal to play unless they have the "This card cannot be used in a duel" clause, so technically, yes, but I doubt that would ever happen.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I made an Xyz that said "When you do X, this card gains a level (starting at level 0)." it would be legal right? Because isn't it that card text > rulebook?

 

That's not what that line in the rulebook actually means, though. That line means that if the card text contradicts ordinary rules, the card takes precedence. For example, Mataza the Zapper can attack twice a turn, even though the rulebook states monsters can only declare an attack once per turn. Same with how monsters cannot ordinarily exist in the S/T zone or S/Ts cannot normally exist in the Monster Zone.

 

There simply is no such thing as Level 0. Level 1 is the lowest Level. And Xyz cannot have Levels by virtue of the mechanic and use of Rank. These aren't "rules" as much as the laws of the game mechanics. Theoretically, you could create a custom card to override it in some manner, but you'd have to jump through more hoops than it's worth. Custom cards that go out of their way to break the rules of a game mechanic are usually very tricky to work with.

 

So, If I made a card that stated you have to open a booster pack, would it be usable in tournements if Konami printed it?

 

No. There are no cards that allow you to interact with other objects outside of the Field and cards in the duel.

 

Can you use the effect of Honest if Banisher of the Radiance/Dimensional Fissure is in play?

Yes. I've seen it done before.

 

No.

 

Just because you've seen it done does not mean it's legal.

 

Honest "sends to the Graveyard" as a cost. You cannot fulfill the cost because of Macro/Fissure/Banisher, because cards cannot be "sent to the Graveyard" while those cards are in play. Therefore, you cannot activate Honest.

 

If a card's cost specifically tells you to put the card somewhere that it cannot exist in, you cannot fulfill the cost. Genex Ally Birdman cannot bounce a Token or Extra Deck monster to the hand as a cost because those monsters cannot exist in the hand. You can "discard" or "Tribute" as a cost, but you cannot "send to Graveyard" or "Discard to Graveyard".

 

Only costs have this restriction. Effects that bounce, send, or return can still work (Super Polymerization still works while Banisher/etc is out, because the cost is to "discard" and sending monsters to the Graveyard is the effect).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Well, pretty sure that could work. Yeah, card text is over the rulebook, like with Greed Quasar. Technically, monsters cannot have level higher than 12, but he can.

 

There is no rule that monsters cannot have levels over 12. Even monsters who can only have levels that state (max 12) such as Fortune Ladies can have their levels increased beyond that by other effects.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

When Ptolemys M7 attaches a "The Sacred" Xyz as material to Xyz Summon itself, do all of the Xyz Materials attached to the "Sacred" Xyz transfer over to Ptolemys like with Utopia Ray?

 

Yes. It even says this explicitly (at least on the DN version). Number C39 and M7 both are used in identical fashions. They can use a specific Xyz as Material and that Xyz's Materials are also Materials for it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes. It even says this explicitly (at least on the DN version). Number C39 and M7 both are used in identical fashions. They can use a specific Xyz as Material and that Xyz's Materials are also Materials for it.

DN Lore:

 

2 Level 6 monsters

You can Xyz Summon this card (from your Extra Deck) by attaching 1 face-up "The Sacred" Xyz Monster you control, except "The Sacred Ptolemys M7", to this card as its Xyz Materials. Once per turn: You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card to target 1 monster on either player's Graveyard or side of the field; return it to the hand. You cannot use this effect the turn you used a "The Sacred" Xyz Monster to Xyz Summon this card.

 

I don't see where it says it attaches the Xyz Materials of the used monster, unless you mean the part where it says "as its Xyz Materials."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can you use Burial from a Different Dimension to return monster(s) to your Graveyard if Dimensional Fissure/Banisher of the Radiance is active?

 

I'm assuming yes, because it says "return" and not "send", so neither one of them would conflict with the effects of the RFG monsters. Just looking for some clarification.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can you use Burial from a Different Dimension to return monster(s) to your Graveyard if Dimensional Fissure/Banisher of the Radiance is active?

 

I'm assuming yes, because it says "return" and not "send", so neither one of them would conflict with the effects of the RFG monsters. Just looking for some clarification.

 

Yes, because it's not "sending". It's returning, as you said.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...