evilfusion Posted December 2, 2011 Report Share Posted December 2, 2011 Can you use Solemn Warning on W Nebula Meteorite in any way? Yes, you can negate Meteorite's activation, because it has an effect that Special Summons a monster. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dementuo Posted December 2, 2011 Report Share Posted December 2, 2011 Can solemn Warning negate cards like Reasoning? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 2, 2011 Report Share Posted December 2, 2011 Can solemn Warning negate cards like Reasoning? Yes. Reasoning attempts to Special Summon a monster. The fact it may be unsuccessful is irrelevent. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CDDRodrigo Posted December 2, 2011 Report Share Posted December 2, 2011 Yes. Reasoning attempts to Special Summon a monster. The fact it may be unsuccessful is irrelevent. So it's not like with Stardust x Snipe Hunter, right? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 2, 2011 Report Share Posted December 2, 2011 So it's not like with Stardust x Snipe Hunter, right? I knew that'd be asked next. Solemn Warning can negate a Summon, or the activation of a Spell, Trap, or Monster Effect that has an effect to Special Summon. Stardust can negate the activation of any effect that destroys cards on the field. This is very specific. Snipe Hunter might not destroy cards on the field, due to its chance-based effect. Because it's unknown at activation if Snipe Hunter will destroy anything, Stardust can't chain. Reasoning is still an effect to Special Summon, regardless of whether it will succeed. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CDDRodrigo Posted December 2, 2011 Report Share Posted December 2, 2011 Yeah, I've seen this ruling before, but I thought it would be applied to cards like Reasoning too. Thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugendramon Posted December 3, 2011 Report Share Posted December 3, 2011 If Diamond Dude activates Duality, Special Summons will still be allowed, right? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Not-so-Radiant Arin Posted December 3, 2011 Report Share Posted December 3, 2011 If Diamond Dude activates Duality, Special Summons will still be allowed, right? I don't see why it shouldn't, because Diamond Dude "activates" the effect of PoD in the Graveyard. I think it has the same ruling as Pot of Benevolence, where you can still "activate" one, because activating an effect in the Graveyard does not count. It shouldn't prevent you from Special Summoning either. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 3, 2011 Report Share Posted December 3, 2011 Because you are only activating the EFFECT of Duality, and not the card itself, you can still Special Summon during that turn. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shradow Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 Yay for loopholes! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Synchronized Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 Can you chain "Wind-Up Rabbit" to Mirror Force if there are "Solemn Judgment"'s involved in the chain? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 As in, attack -> Activate Mirror Force -> Chain Solemn Judgment -> Chain Rabbit? If so, no, because Rabbit's Quick Effect is only Spell Speed 2, and Judgment is a Counter Trap. You CAN chain Wind-Up Rabbit's effect to Mirror Force, but not after Solemn Judgment is used. And if you do, Judgment can't be activated because the last thing to activate was Rabbit, and Judgment must chain to the card it's trying to negate. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CommanderVolt Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 So i was over-looking some rulings and was reading up on Solemn Warning. Based on its wordings if i play Gem-Knight Fusion and player B prompts not to activate Solemn Warning, they cannot activate it when my Gem-Knight Fusion monster hits the field, correct? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blake Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 So i was over-looking some rulings and was reading up on Solemn Warning. Based on its wordings if i play Gem-Knight Fusion and player B prompts not to activate Solemn Warning, they cannot activate it when my Gem-Knight Fusion monster hits the field, correct?Correct. ONLY Contact Fusions (Glads, Neos, XYZ, etc) can be negated by Solemn. Rituals are also immune to beign solemned. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CommanderVolt Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 Correct. ONLY Contact Fusions (Glads, Neos, XYZ, etc) can be negated by Solemn. Rituals are also immune to beign solemned. God i love Gem-Knight Fusion. Thanks man Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 Correct, it cannot stop the Fusion monster itself, only the card that Summons it. The reason for this is that with all Summon negation effects, the timing for Summon negation is "before" the monster is actually on the Field. For this to work, there has to be nothing in the process of resolving during this timing window, as effects cannot chain or be activated mid-resolution. When you activate any sort of effect that Special Summons, and allow it to resolve without response (or you chain something that doesn't actually interfere with its resolution), a monster is Special Summoned during the card's resolution. At this point, the timing for Summon negation is invalid, as the monster is successfully on the field when you are given a response window. So Solemns cannot touch any Special Summon prompted by an effect's resolution, they can only chain to the effect or the card itself. This applies to all Summon negation, such as Black Horn of Heaven, Solemn Judgment, and Thunder King Rai-Oh. Solemn Warning is more flexible in what cards it can negate, but it still follows the same logic. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Synchronized Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 With what you said then, if I attack, and my opponent chains Mirror Force, and I chain Rabbit, no Solemn Judgment can go off? What if I play Torrential Tribute on my turn and try to banish Rabbit; can the opponent play Solemn Judgment then? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ieyasu Tokugawa Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 With what you said then, if I attack, and my opponent chains Mirror Force, and I chain Rabbit, no Solemn Judgment can go off? What if I play Torrential Tribute on my turn and try to banish Rabbit; can the opponent play Solemn Judgment then?Solemn Judgment has to respond to the card it's negated. No ifs, ands or buts. Also, when you play Torrential, the opponent now has priority to activate an effect. It's not a game of speed where you're just "Play Torrential chain Rabbit!" and when your opponent tries to Solemn Torrential you're just "Nope not fast enough!" You HAVE to give your opponent a chance to respond to your plays. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Synchronized Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 Solemn Judgment has to respond to the card it's negated. No ifs, ands or buts. Also, when you play Torrential, the opponent now has priority to activate an effect. It's not a game of speed where you're just "Play Torrential chain Rabbit!" and when your opponent tries to Solemn Torrential you're just "Nope not fast enough!" You HAVE to give your opponent a chance to respond to your plays. I thought so, too. I just wanted to make sure I wasn't misunderstanding evilfusion's explanation. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
IceDorago Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 Correct. ONLY Contact Fusions (Glads, Neos, XYZ, etc) can be negated by Solemn. Rituals are also immune to beign solemned. Assuming you mean the monster itself, not the Ritual Spell, right? And just to make it clear, in a nutshell, you can use Summon negation cards/effects if a monster Normals/Specials itself, or if it's a mechanic like Synchro or Xyz, but if it comes through a Spell/Trap, you have to Solemn that card itself, and if it's through another monster's effect, you'd have to negate the effect of the monster summoning the new one? And was the ruling with things like Starlight that have a chance to Summon that they're able to be Warninged or not? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blake Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 Assuming you mean the monster itself, not the Ritual Spell, right? And just to make it clear, in a nutshell, you can use Summon negation cards/effects if a monster Normals/Specials itself, or if it's a mechanic like Synchro or Xyz, but if it comes through a Spell/Trap, you have to Solemn that card itself, and if it's through another monster's effect, you'd have to negate the effect of the monster summoning the new one? And was the ruling with things like Starlight that have a chance to Summon that they're able to be Warninged or not?lrn2context Of course I meant the cards themselves, not the spells =.= Yes, and Starlight/W-Meteorite/Macro Cosmos CAN be warned. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 If a Summon will start a chain, you have to negate the effect to negate the Summon. Solemn Warning can negate Effects that Special Summon, but Judgment, Rai-Oh, etc cannot. For Fusions that use a Fusion Spell, or Rituals (which also use a Spell), you cannot stop the Ritual/Fusion monster itself, only the card trying to Special Summon. Cards that CAN Special Summon can be negated by Solemn Warning, but only at the card's activation, not at the timing it would actually do the SS (Nebula Meteorite, Future Fusion, Starlight Road). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
shadowferret Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 So, something came up at Regionals yesterday that I didn't really understand, but I always thought I did... I attack Catastor, its effect activates, I use an effect to negate his effect and destroy him. I get a replay.But when Catastor attacks, uses its effect to destroy something, my opponent doesn't get a replay.Why is this, exactly? The conditions were the same to trigger a replay, and its not as if the timing was any different in either situation. Could someone clarify why this happens, to me? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Not-so-Radiant Arin Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 So, something came up at Regionals yesterday that I didn't really understand, but I always thought I did... I attack Catastor, its effect activates, I use an effect to negate his effect and destroy him. I get a replay.But when Catastor attacks, uses its effect to destroy something, my opponent doesn't get a replay.Why is this, exactly? The conditions were the same to trigger a replay, and its not as if the timing was any different in either situation. Could someone clarify why this happens, to me? Because you negated the effect of Catastor before the Damage Step (when Catastor's effect activates), you are given a replay because the number of monsters has changed on your opponent's side of the field before attack declaration. In the same sense, when Catastor uses it's effect to destroy one of your monsters, the Damage Step is skipped (Because it's effect states "at the start of the Damage Step without applying Damage Calculation"). Evilfusion can probably explain it better. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted December 4, 2011 Report Share Posted December 4, 2011 Actually, as far as I know, you should NOT get a replay. Catastor's effect activates at the start of the Damage Step, but before Damage Calculation (ATK/DEF is compared, monsters are destroyed in battle, and Battle Damage is inflicted). Replays only occur if the number of monsters changes during the Battle Step (attack declaration up to Damage Step). The timing to negate Catastor's effect (Stardust, Dolkka, Divine Wrath, etc) would be the same as if the effect applied normally, which is the start of the Damage Step, as Catastor itself indicates. As such, neither player gets a replay. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.