Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

1. If One Day of Peace/Momentary Truce's eff is still active, do you not take damage from Power Bond?

 

Depends, I think you as the turn player would be able to resolve Power Bond first, so Momentary Truce would still be active and cancel out the damage. Ask Evilfusion or Darkwolf for confirmation.

 

2. Can you play Polymerization or other fusing cards that send cards to the graveyard to Fusion Summon if Macro Cosmos/D. Fissure is activated?

 

Fusing cards is comepletely an effect, which is why you don't send them if Poly was solemned, so yes you can.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

"Missing the timing" refers to an effect not occurring during normal trigger conditions. Effects that say "You can" (I.E. optional trigger effects) always miss the timing. Missing it occurs when the effect is triggered through any other means than what is specifically stated on the card.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can someone explain missing the timing to me?

 

I shall try.

 

There are effects that only activate at a specific trigger. These are called Trigger Effects (I know that came off as condescending, sorry). An example of this is Tour Guide (activates when Normal Summoned) or TG Warwolf (activates when a Level 4 mon is SSed) or Sangan (activates when sent to Grave from field).

 

What happens is that an optional Trigger Effect, in order to activate, must have had the last thing to occur or resolve in the duel be its Trigger. If the Trigger for an optional Trigger Effect is tripped mid-chain/resolution, the effect cannot go off.

 

Take note also that in order for Trigger Effects to activate, the last thing to RESOLVE must be its Trigger. Not necessarily the last thing to activate, but there are exceptions if its Trigger is more specific.

 

Number 39: Utopia is a Trigger Effect. Since declaring an attack does not start a chain, it's a Trigger Effect and thus Spell Speed 1, (whereas Quick Effects are Spell Speed 2). This is why it can't be used against D-Prison. Because it's a Trigger, it can't chain to Spell Speed 2 effects. It didn't so much miss the timing as much as it can't by virtue of game mechanics.

 

Geartown's a good example. Geartown is a Field Spell, but the SS effect is a Trigger. If Geartown is destroyed due to activating your own Field Spell (activating starts a chain, but the first Field dying is virtue of game mechanics), it misses the timing because the last thing to resolve was a new Field activating. Now, if your opponent activated a Field Spell, the first is not destroyed until the new one successfully resolves. Because of this, your opponent using a new Field will not make Geartown miss the timing, because the first resolving and Geartown going to the Graveyard happens at the same time.

 

Also, if an effect destroys Geartown during Chain resolution so that the last effect to resolve is not destroying Geartown, it misses the timing. If I activate...Dark Hole, and chain MST as Link 2, Geartown is destroyed when Link 2 resolves, and then Link 1 resolves. Last thing to resolve was Dark Hole's effect, not Geartown being destroyed, so Gear misses timing.

 

It's confusing to some people, and I've had to explain this to another person recently, so if you have any more questions or clarification, do ask, either in PM or this thread.

 

SUMMARY: If an optional Trigger Effect's Trigger is NOT the last event to resolve, it will miss the timing. However, if multiple cards have the same Trigger, they can usually activate simultaneously in the same chain.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I shall try.

 

There are effects that only activate at a specific trigger. These are called Trigger Effects (I know that came off as condescending, sorry). An example of this is Tour Guide (activates when Normal Summoned) or TG Warwolf (activates when a Level 4 mon is SSed) or Sangan (activates when sent to Grave from field).

 

What happens is that an optional Trigger Effect, in order to activate, must have had the last thing to occur or resolve in the duel be its Trigger. If the Trigger for an optional Trigger Effect is tripped mid-chain/resolution, the effect cannot go off.

 

Take note also that in order for Trigger Effects to activate, the last thing to RESOLVE must be its Trigger. Not necessarily the last thing to activate, but there are exceptions if its Trigger is more specific.

 

Number 39: Utopia is a Trigger Effect. Since declaring an attack does not start a chain, it's a Trigger Effect and thus Spell Speed 1, (whereas Quick Effects are Spell Speed 2). This is why it can't be used against D-Prison. Because it's a Trigger, it can't chain to Spell Speed 2 effects. It didn't so much miss the timing as much as it can't by virtue of game mechanics.

 

Geartown's a good example. Geartown is a Field Spell, but the SS effect is a Trigger. If Geartown is destroyed due to activating your own Field Spell (activating starts a chain, but the first Field dying is virtue of game mechanics), it misses the timing because the last thing to resolve was a new Field activating. Now, if your opponent activated a Field Spell, the first is not destroyed until the new one successfully resolves. Because of this, your opponent using a new Field will not make Geartown miss the timing, because the first resolving and Geartown going to the Graveyard happens at the same time.

 

Also, if an effect destroys Geartown during Chain resolution so that the last effect to resolve is not destroying Geartown, it misses the timing. If I activate...Dark Hole, and chain MST as Link 2, Geartown is destroyed when Link 2 resolves, and then Link 1 resolves. Last thing to resolve was Dark Hole's effect, not Geartown being destroyed, so Gear misses timing.

 

It's confusing to some people, and I've had to explain this to another person recently, so if you have any more questions or clarification, do ask, either in PM or this thread.

 

SUMMARY: If an optional Trigger Effect's Trigger is NOT the last event to resolve, it will miss the timing. However, if multiple cards have the same Trigger, they can usually activate simultaneously in the same chain.

 

That's helpful. Thanks.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Now, you can set your own field spell over Geartown to activate its eff, correct?

 

Also, can Arcana Force XXI - The World be 1 of the tributes for its head eff to skip you opponent's next turn?

 

Yes, because Setting a card does not start a chain. The last thing to resolve was Geartown being destroyed.

 

Yes, because Arcana Force does not say "other monsters" or exclude itself. Any 2 monsters you control can be the cost.

 

EDIT: Except Tokens. The World states to "send" monsters to the Graveyard.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I've been wondering. If Phantom of Chaos removes Rescue Rabbit from the Graveyard, and gains its effect, then uses that effect, can I use another Rescue Rabbit's effect that same turn? If not, then if I change the name of Phantom of Chaos with the effect of Rescue Rabbit with something like Hero Mask, and then use another Rescue Rabbit's effect?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I've been wondering. If Phantom of Chaos removes Rescue Rabbit from the Graveyard, and gains its effect, then uses that effect, can I use another Rescue Rabbit's effect that same turn? If not, then if I change the name of Phantom of Chaos with the effect of Rescue Rabbit with something like Hero Mask, and then use another Rescue Rabbit's effect?

 

No. With all cards that specifically designate the name a card, ALL cards of that name, whether changed or originally named as such, cannot be used more than the designated number of times.

 

It is ruled this way to prevent certain cards from being abused or infinite loops, such as Fairy Archer, The Wicked Avatar, etc. Even if the name is changed, it still counts as being that card. So even if you change Fairy Archer's name with Hero Mask, its effect and the effect of other Fairy Archers, cannot be used more than once per turn. Rescue Rabbit is the same.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Alright. Got sort of a hypothetical question here.

 

Say we have the following card:

 

Token Machine [Earth]

*

Machine/Effect

Once per turn, you can summon a Machine Token (Earth, Machine, lv.1, atk/0 def/0). Machine Tokens you control cannot be tributed for a tribute summon.

100/100

 

Say you used token machine's effect, then you activate enemy controller, tributing token machine to take control of your opponent's spore. Can you now tribute your machine token? Is the effet of token generator continuous as long as it's on the field, or does it linger even when it's gone? If it's effect was worded differently, would it work differently?

 

Sorry about that, just curious. Also, lolspore.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Alright. Got sort of a hypothetical question here.

 

Say we have the following card:

 

Token Machine [Earth]

*

Machine/Effect

Once per turn, you can summon a Machine Token (Earth, Machine, lv.1, atk/0 def/0). Machine Tokens you control cannot be tributed for a tribute summon.

100/100

 

Say you used token machine's effect, then you activate enemy controller, tributing token machine to take control of your opponent's spore. Can you now tribute your machine token? Is the effet of token generator continuous as long as it's on the field, or does it linger even when it's gone? If it's effect was worded differently, would it work differently?

 

Sorry about that, just curious. Also, lolspore.

 

It lingers, as it a condition placed upon the Token itself, regardless of the status of the creator.

 

The only way to make it work differently would be to specify that the Token only has this condition while the monster is on the field. Such as "While this card is face-up on the field, 'Machine Token' monsters you control cannot be Tributed, except for a Tribute Summon", but honestly, that's a really bad idea to give token producers.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...