Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Cards that negate effects upon Summoning them, or outright state "negate the effect" (Junk Synchron, Debris, Tour Guide, Infernity General, Forbidden Chalice, Effect Veiler) negate the effects that activate or apply on the field.

 

Skill Drain is different because it specifically states "faceup", and since costs are never negated, cards that Tribute itself (Stardust, Beetle, Exiled Force, Lonefire on itself) dodge Skill Drain because while they activated on the field, they are no longer on the field when their effects resolve, which is when Skill Drain would negate them.

 

With cards like Magical Exemplar, do they still gain Spell Counters if you destroy/negate them at activation? (spell cards, I mean)

 

If you negate the effect with something like Spell Canceller, or MSTing a Continuous/Equip/Field Spell, Exempler will still gain counters because a Spell was activated. But if you negate the ACTIVATION (Magic Jammer, etc), Exempler will not gain counters because a Spell was not successfully activated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

Depending on the effect, if the monster is face-down, it won't happen anyway.

 

That doesn't answer the question. Answer it as generically as you can, leaving specific instances aside. Whether or not the monster's effect can resolve while its face-down has nothing to do with Veiler still affecting it or not. Most monster effects still resolve even if the monster that activated it is face-down or removed from the field =/

 

If you chain Book of Moon to Effect Veiler, then your Monster will be face-down and Veiler cannot apply its negation effect onto it.

 

If Effect Veiler is chained to Book of Moon, Veiler will apply its negation effect, but then the monster will be flipped face-down, in which case, Veiler will stop applying in that situation as well.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Two colossal fighters duke it out and kill each other.

 

Can he summon my Colossal before I can summon something?

Once again, turn player's colossal activates first, then the non-turn player. So the turn player would select their monster first, then the non-turn player could select the monster the turn player selected and just say "f*ck you"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Once again, turn player's colossal activates first, then the non-turn player. So the turn player would select their monster first, then the non-turn player could select the monster the turn player selected and just say "f*ck you"

 

Or repeat the same thing all over again. But that would be stupid and pointless.

 

SMASHSMASHSMASH for 20 minutes....

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Gaap is a Continuous Effect. Any monsters switched to Defense Position will immediately return to Attack Position, and any monsters already in Defense will go to Attack. The line "their Battle Positions cannot be changed" refers to manual changes. Effects like Goblin or Lyla will still switch accordingly, but Gaap will immediately return them to Attack Position. It is the same as Final Attack Orders.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Xyz Materials are removed from play when Marco / Banisher is on the field, right?

 

Macro and Banisher? Yes. All cards sent to the Graveyard are removed from play instead.

 

With Dimensional Fissure, No, they will not be removed from play because Xyz Materials are not Monsters. They are sent as Xyz Materials.

 

 

Does Backfire's effect activate when Gaia Soul nukes itself?

 

Yes. It doesn't matter how the Fire monster will be destroyed, so long as you control it when it does and it is sent to the Graveyard.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...