evilfusion Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Now I have a question in accordance with Gozen Match and Rivalry of Warlords. Namely, how do they work as far as restricting you from Synchro Summoning? 1) I read a ruling on Gozen Match that you cannot activate the tag Effects of Gladiator Beasts nor Lonefire Blossom and similar if you do not have a target of the valid Attribute at the moment. If you do, and your (only) monster leaves the field, you are free to choose any Attribute target you wish. 2) I read for Rivalry that you can Tribute your only monster for a monster of a different Type. Assuming they have the same base rulings, since they do essentially the exact same thing, with Attribute vs Type being the main difference, how does this relate to Synchro Summoning? Suppose you have 2 Warriors on the field and Rivalry. Can you Synchro Summon for a non-Warrior Synchro Monster, since doing so will remove your Warriors from the field? Same with Gozen, can you Synch two LIGHTs for a DARK Synchro Monster? Am I mistaken with any of the rulings? How do these cards work? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Now I have a question in accordance with Gozen Match and Rivalry of Warlords. Namely, how do they work as far as restricting you from Synchro Summoning? 1) I read a ruling on Gozen Match that you cannot activate the tag Effects of Gladiator Beasts nor Lonefire Blossom and similar if you do not have a target of the valid Attribute at the moment. If you do, and your (only) monster leaves the field, you are free to choose any Attribute target you wish. 2) I read for Rivalry that you can Tribute your only monster for a monster of a different Type. Assuming they have the same base rulings, since they do essentially the exact same thing, with Attribute vs Type being the main difference, how does this relate to Synchro Summoning? Suppose you have 2 Warriors on the field and Rivalry. Can you Synchro Summon for a non-Warrior Synchro Monster, since doing so will remove your Warriors from the field? Same with Gozen, can you Synch two LIGHTs for a DARK Synchro Monster? Am I mistaken with any of the rulings? How do these cards work? Both Rivalry of Warlords and Gozen Match work the same way, just one work for "Type" and the other "Attribute". 1: You cannot perform a Tribute Summon of a monster that is not the correct Type/Attribute as the one you have on the field. You choose the monster you wish to Tribute Summon prior to performing a Tribute Summon. It is illegal to attempt to Tribute Summon the wrong type of monster at this time since Gozen Match/Rivalry of Warlords is preventing it. You also cannot change which monster you're going to summon midway through the summon (the Tributing and Summoning of a monster is one process. You cannot interrupt that process by changing the monster you wish to summon halfway through). 2: You cannot perform a Synchro Summon of a monster that is not the correct Type/Attribute as the one you have on the field for the same reason as Tribute Summoning it. The Synchro Summon must be legal before you attempt to do it and it is not legal if it is of a different Type/Attribute. Again, you cannot change the monster you wish to Synchro Summon part way through the summoning process. 3: When activating the effects of something like Lonefire Blossom (with Gozen Match on the field), to properly activate Lonefire Blossom in the first place, you must do so with the intent of Special Summoning a FIRE Attribute Monster (because Gozen Match is preventing you from summoning any other attributes.). Therefore, you MUST have a Fire-Type Plant monster in your deck to validate your ability to activate Lonefire's effect. When resolving the effect of Lonefire Blossom, if your field is empty then you may Special Summon a non-FIRE Attribute monster because your field currently has no monsters and is not restrained by Gozen Match at this time. 4: The same in regards to Gladiator Beasts, assuming you only control 1 Gladiator Beast, you can only activate the effect of said Gladiator Beast with the intent of Special Summoning one of the same type/attribute. When resolving the effect, and you control no monsters at this time, you may select any valid GB monster. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Okay, thanks. That's how I've been playing with them, and thought the Tribute Summon part was contradictory. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Rai Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Can an opponent use my Royal Oppression when an "Amazoness" monster is Summoned by the effect of "Amazoness Village" after another was destroyed by battle? i.e. Does "Amazoness Village" happen during the Damage Step? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Can an opponent use my Royal Oppression when an "Amazoness" monster is Summoned by the effect of "Amazoness Village" after another was destroyed by battle? i.e. Does "Amazoness Village" happen during the Damage Step? Yes, Amazoness Village activates during the Damage Step because it says it does: All face-up "Amazoness" monsters on the field gain 200 ATK. Once per turn, when an "Amazoness" monster is destroyed by battle or by a card effect, and is sent to the Graveyard, you can Special Summon 1 "Amazoness" monster from your Deck with a Level equal to or lower than that of the destroyed "Amazoness". You cannot activate Royal Oppression at this time because Royal Oppression cannot be activated during the Damage Step. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Northern Sage Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 What happens if I have two or more Barrier Statues on my side of the field? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chaos Dralcax Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 What happens if a Synchro or a Fusion monster is targeted by an effect that returns the targeted monster to your hand? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 @Northern: You may not Special Summon at all, because the two Statues combined prevent all Attributes. What happens if a Synchro or a Fusion monster is targeted by an effect that returns the targeted monster to your hand? It returns to the Extra Deck. The same if you would return a Synchro or Fusion to the deck (Pot of Avarice, Phoenix Wing, etc) Note: You cannot return a Synchro or Fusion to the hand as a cost. You may as part of the effect, though. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Master White Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Well, so I was reading a post in RL section and that person says you cannot flip summon the first turn you set the card....Well, I knew that, but what if you set it with an effect, then you can flip it, right? Not sure any cards that can do that yet, but couldn't you? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Well, so I was reading a post in RL section and that person says you cannot flip summon the first turn you set the card....Well, I knew that, but what if you set it with an effect, then you can flip it, right? Not sure any cards that can do that yet, but couldn't you? A Flip Summon is just manually changing the Battle Position of a facedown monster to faceup Attack. It is subject to all the rules and restrictions of Manual Battle Position Changes. That being: - You may not do it if the monster was Summoned this turn, or if you already manually changed its Battle Position.- You may not do it if the monster declared an attack, even if the attack was negated or otherwise stopped. If you have not done either of the above, you may Flip Summon. Cards that set themselves (Guardian Sphinx, etc) are effects, and you can Flip Summon them that same turn. Changing Battle Positions as part of an effect is not a manual change, and does not "count" towards your 1 change per turn. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Master White Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Hmm, so I always thought you could use mecha bunny your turn, then set the new one face down and you could flip summon it b/c you Special Summoned it. Well, now that I'm corrected, I guess I now know what Book of Taiyou is for... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airride Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Some more Questions: 1.) Opponent book of moons my attacking monster.Shifting shadows, I flip it, claiming Nobody could prove that it attacked. Same thing as yangan thing, I assume? 2.)Pole position&Similar cards(Above _=Something, Below _=Something):If there is a tie/Equal(Like LP) does nothing happen? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 Some more Questions: 1.) Opponent book of moons my attacking monster.Shifting shadows, I flip it, claiming Nobody could prove that it attacked. Same thing as yangan thing, I assume? 2.)Pole position&Similar cards(Above _=Something, Below _=Something):If there is a tie/Equal(Like LP) does nothing happen? 1) Stop using Shifting Shadows questions. The game state keeps track of these things and you must also. Shifting Shadows does not do anything to conceal game state information. It's also an extremely weak card. 2) Pole Position says "monster(s)". If there is a tie, both are immune to Spells. This can cause an infinite loop if a Spell is making one of them tie, which may prevent you from either using that Spell in the first place, or activating Pole. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airride Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 1.)Ok. 2.)I did not see it said monster(s)...Thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chaos Dralcax Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 I'm a bit confused about Senet Switch. What is it used for? Because it seems like the effect is futile, so there must be something I don't know, otherwise the card wouldn't exist. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greiga Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 You use it so your low level monsters can run past the enemy monsters and attack your opponent directly. I am quite serious. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted July 21, 2011 Report Share Posted July 21, 2011 I'm a bit confused about Senet Switch. What is it used for? Because it seems like the effect is futile, so there must be something I don't know, otherwise the card wouldn't exist. Senet Switch came out in Cyberdark Impact, considered by me to be the worst pack EVER. They put in a bunch of interesting archetype ideas, but almost all of them were pathetically underwhelming and the ideas died quickly. - Senet cards were cards that gained effects based on whether there were cards in an adjacent Monster Card Zone, or in related S/T zones. Blasting Fuse, for example, was a Trap that destroyed all cards in the column it was in, and could only be used if that column was full. That meant the monster zone in front of it, the monster opposing it, and the S/T behind that monster. - Chain archetype were cards that had effects based on what Chain Link they were. Notable ones are Chain Strike and Accumulated Fortune, which see play in Chain Burn decks. But aside from those, it was horribly inconsistent because the best ones needed to be like Chain Link 4 and that's just ridiculously hard to do consistently outside Chain Burn. Senet Switch was meant to make the Senet effects easier to Trigger, but like mentioned, the idea was horribly done and dropped. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JadenxAtemYAOI Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 Anyone mind explaining how tengu is abused and what it means by “removed from the field” Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ieyasu Tokugawa Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 Anyone mind explaining how tengu is abused and what it means by “removed from the field”If it is on the field and goes to your hand, Graveyard or RFG pile by any means (exept when destroyed by card effect while facedown), it's effect activates. Since it is a mandatory effect, it never misses timing. This means any synchro summon using Tengu is a net 0 on it's own, because you lose 2 monsters, gain a synchro monster, and gain another tengu. Combine that with reviving tuners and you can have massive plays in a short amount of time. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted July 22, 2011 Report Share Posted July 22, 2011 Anyone mind explaining how tengu is abused and what it means by “removed from the field” Sure. Tengu is a 1700 ATK level 4 monster. This means it has some beatstick capacity and being Beast Warrior gives it access to Horn of the Phantom Beast, making a 2500 beatstick that can draw whenever it kills a monster. "Removed from the field" is exactly what it sounds like. When it's on the field, if it is sent to the Graveyard, removed from play, or returned to the hand, it activates. This is a mandatory effect and will not miss the timing. Therefore: 1- Tribute fodder2- Absorbs destruction effects like Mirror Force or Torrential, and renders most 1 for 1 removal (D-Prison) useless.3- Thins the deck.4- SYNCHRO MATERIAL. Oh my god, Synchro Material.5- Can be a meatshield. It will not activate if removed while facedown, or when it returns to the deck. Pot of Avarice is this card's friend, because if you used up two copies, you'll recycle its effect for more shenanigans. It's currently ruled that using it for Xyz Material will trigger its effect. The fact its effect is mandatory (and wont miss timing), the useful level, the decent typing, the nice Attribute, the decent ATK, and the power of spamming it with Synchros makes it extremely abusable. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JadenxAtemYAOI Posted July 23, 2011 Report Share Posted July 23, 2011 Would anyone mind putting it simply as possible how to make a gemini gain its effect? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted July 23, 2011 Report Share Posted July 23, 2011 Would anyone mind putting it simply as possible how to make a gemini gain its effect? Sure. When you have a Gemini monster on the field, and have not used your Normal Summon (or have an additional one with Double Summon), you can declare you're using your Normal Summon on the Gemini monster (I refer to this as "Gemini Summon"). This is still treated as a Normal Summon for the purposes of Trap Hole or Torrential. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airride Posted July 23, 2011 Report Share Posted July 23, 2011 You summon a gemini, and next tunr, Instead of a normal summon, you can have it gain its effect. Also, if it's 5+ it doesn't need tributes.(Also I was ninjad.) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Welche the crab Posted July 23, 2011 Report Share Posted July 23, 2011 Normal Summon it again. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Northern Sage Posted July 23, 2011 Report Share Posted July 23, 2011 Would anyone mind putting it simply as possible how to make a gemini gain its effect?Simply put, you normal summon while it's out on the field. This counts towards your normal summon total of 1. You can also use Blazewing Butterfly's effect to Special Summon a Gemini monster and have it gain it's effect. This, however, requires you to have BB's effect activated. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.