Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If your life points are halved so that it becomes an odd number, what happens if you halve them again? (e.g. Machanicalchaser attacks you directly, then Yu-Jo Friendship is played when your opponent's life points do not end in 50, then you pay half of your life points for a cost)

 

It rounds up to a whole number. Half of 25 is 13, half of 1075 is 538, half of 1 is 1.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Are there any rules about 'Altered' art, like taking a marker and coloring the card differently, as long as no text is obstructed?

I think bigger tourneys tend to turn you away due to weight that the marker adds (Yes, some people can tell the difference by picking up the card)

 

I don't know about locals, though they're usually quite lenient on stuff like this where I'm at.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Here's a question. If I stack Dandylion and another Lv3 monster to Xyz Summon Grenosaurus and then detach Dandylion (which sends to the Grave), can Dandylion's effect still go with his effect? I was sent to the Graveyard, so I assume it still works.

 

Yes, that has been confirmed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Sacred_Spirit_of_the_Ice_Barrier

 

My opponent Normal Summons it when they control anotehr Ice Barrier. The effect to bounce my monster applies at the summoning, or replaces the Spirit effect?

 

Only the effect changes, not the timing at which it happens. While there's another face-up Ice Barrier during the End Phase, tbe entire effect becomes:

 

During the End Phase of the turn this card was Normal Summoned or flipped face-up, select 1 monster your opponent controls and return it to the hand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure it doesn't work that way, but nontheless, here's the question:

If the effect of a card whose effect can only be applied once while it's face-up on the field (e.g. XX-Saber Fulhelmknight) is negated by a card effect that expires at some point (Effect Veiler, Forbidden Chalice) while it's effect was already used before that, can it use it's effect again after the negation is over?

I assume that "once while it's face-up on the field" is a condition that can't be negated... but yeah, just to be 100% sure. Thanks :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure that after its effect is negated temporarily, it "forgets" that its effect was used and can be used again

So, to stay with the example of Fulhelmknight:

- My opponent attacks, I use Fulhelmknight's effect to negate it.

- During my turn, I use Forbidden Chalice to negate Fulhelmknight's effect and maybe run over something I couldn't run over before.

- Now I can negate another of my opponent's attacks next turn.

- ...

- Profit!

 

Sounds good enough for me...

 

@Miror B.: Let's assume the effect was already activated before it's effect got negated (a turn ago or something).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I don't believe it works that way. Flipping a monster facedown will reset its "limit" and memory of activating its effect previously that turn, but I don't think negating its effect will. The reasoning is that while negating effects will permanantly remove stat modifications from the effect, it doesn't remove the effect from the card itself, so conditions on whether the effect had been previously activated would not be re-set.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But doesn't negating act like suppressing? It like still goes through, but the effect doesn't happen with the cost almost, if that makes sense. So I would think negating Fullhelmnight when it uses its effect so it doesnt get its effect, uses up its ability to activate, so it wouldn't be able to activate as long as its still face up.

 

Correct me ifI'm wrong.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But doesn't negating act like suppressing? It like still goes through, but the effect doesn't happen with the cost almost, if that makes sense. So I would think negating Fullhelmnight when it uses its effect so it doesnt get its effect, uses up its ability to activate, so it wouldn't be able to activate as long as its still face up.

 

Correct me ifI'm wrong.

 

I think they're trying to find out what if you negate the effect in general after it already used its effect. I don't believe it re-sets the "Once while this card is face-up" condition.

 

What most Conditions state is you can only activate an effect once per turn. If the activation is negated, it doesn't count as being activated (unless like Glow-Up it says "can only be USED once per duel"), but most cards that negate activations also destroy the card, so this is more theoretical than something that commonly happens. If you just negate the effect, it counts as being activated, but the effect itself didn't happen.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...