Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

ASAP - Opponent is trying to SS his Krystia during my battle phase, legal? Yes or No?

and reasoning

 

Not if you mean he's Special Summoning it due to having 4 Fairies. That's an inherent Special Summon, not an effect activating, and can only be done during his turn.

 

It's not "if", it's "can"

 

"If" doesn't contrast with "can". It's "If" vs "When" in terms of missing the timing.

 

I looked up the translation on Wiki, and I change my answer. It says "When this card is sent to the Graveyard while...", so it'll miss the timing from Hand Destruction. Discarding and drawing do not occur simultaneously.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Can I use Musto, Priest of Gusto to return a copy of itself from the Graveyard to the Deck, then Tribute it for Mind Master's effect to summon the one I just returned, and repeat infinitely?

Also, can Musto target himself for his own effect?

 

"Musto, Priest of Gusto" is a Gusto monster, so you can select a "Musto, Priest of Gusto" in the Graveyard and return it to the Deck.

 

"Musto, Priest of Gusto" has the condition of "This effect can only be used once per turn." This isn't the same as the words "Once per turn" that appears prior to the effect clause. This means that this effect can only activate ONCE per turn and only once per turn. Having multiple "Musto, Priest of Gusto" on the field, flipping it face-down, removing it, getting more, renaming it, etc wont allow you to use this effect more than once per turn. Therefore, you cannot loop this over and over.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Not if you mean he's Special Summoning it due to having 4 Fairies. That's an inherent Special Summon, not an effect activating, and can only be done during his turn.

 

 

 

"If" doesn't contrast with "can". It's "If" vs "When" in terms of missing the timing.

 

I looked up the translation on Wiki, and I change my answer. It says "When this card is sent to the Graveyard while...", so it'll miss the timing from Hand Destruction. Discarding and drawing do not occur simultaneously.

On the TCG version of Hand Destruction it says "Send... and draw..." so how does that imply missed timing? the two effects happen simultaneously...

Yeah yeah... my spelling sucks, ik

 

What about synchro summoning with Tender? Effect stil goes off?

Where else would Tender Miss Timing?

 

And what is the ruling with Tender and Miller? Byakk made it sound like it didn't quite work...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On the TCG version of Hand Destruction it says "Send... and draw..." so how does that imply missed timing? the two effects happen simultaneously...

Yeah yeah... my spelling sucks, ik

 

What about synchro summoning with Tender? Effect stil goes off?

Where else would Tender Miss Timing?

 

And what is the ruling with Tender and Miller? Byakk made it sound like it didn't quite work...

 

While sending and drawing resolve in the same link, it is not the same as effects occurng simultaneously. You're not sending 2 cards and drawing 2 cards at the same time. You're sending 2 cards and then drawing 2. Drawing is the last effect to resolve. This is probably going to be a case where Problem-Solving text will come in handy.

 

Now, I'll admit the possibility of being wrong, because I can't find a ruling that contradicts me, nor one that specifically states it does. However, to me this is more evidence that they do NOT occur simultaneously, because most cards with simultaneous actions (Morphtronic Accelerator) have a ruling stating that the events occur at the same time. I also dont have the most recent WC game to test the situation.

 

No. Tender says "when", so it will miss the timing the same with any monster that can miss the timing when Synchro Summons occur. The last thing to occur is not Tender being sent to the Graveyard, but a Synchro Monster being Synchro Summoned.

 

With Tender and Miller, it should activate. I don't see why it would not, anyway.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Despite wording, I don't believe its possible to do two effects simultaneous that affect the same thing, such as "Discarding" and "Drawing" (which both affect the hand). So therefore you can only "Discard" then "Draw" not both simultaneously.

 

If there was a card effect that said "Inflict 1000 damage to your opponent's Life Points and increase your opponent's Life Points by 1500", you can't do them simultaneously and assume they took damage and also healed at the same time. You cannot argue that they didn't take damage at all and only gained 500 Life Points. If there was such a card, it would most likely be ruled to "Inflict Damage" THEN "Increase Life Points" rather than do them simultaneously.

 

That's just my thoughts on that ;p

 

Can I stack extra Normal Summons from sources like Brain Research Lab, Double Summon, and the Karakuri Geisha lady? Or can I still only get a maximum of one extra Normal Summon? (excluding Ultimate Offering and Cry Havoc)

 

Double Summon will stack with Brain Research Lab and Karakuri Komachi.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can my opponent activate super polymerization if fossil dyna pachycephalo is face-up on the field?

 

Dyna's effect is continous

 

You answered your own question. Since Dyna is continuous, there's nothing to activate. Therefore, it does stop Super Poly.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can the effect of a face-up Amazoness Village (to Special Summon an Amazoness from my Deck) be negated by Royal Oppression (Yes, I know that Oppression can't be activated during the Damage Step, I'm referring to the destruction by a card effect)? Or can its activation (placing it on the field) be negated by it?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can the effect of a face-up Amazoness Village (to Special Summon an Amazoness from my Deck) be negated by Royal Oppression (Yes, I know that Oppression can't be activated during the Damage Step, I'm referring to the destruction by a card effect)? Or can its activation (placing it on the field) be negated by it?

 

Amazoness Village doesn't Special Summon at activation, so Oppression can't do anything when it's first activated.

 

But yes, it can respond to the activation of its effect to SS an Amazoness, since it's an effect that Special Summons.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hmm, I'm haven't tested out a HERO fusion Deck I made this morning (before DN went down) but I'm not sure if I should neg out the 2 polys I have for a super poly & something else. Thoughts? (Theres already 1 Super Poly in the Deck)

 

EDIT:If this is the wrong place my apologizes in advance cause I wasn't sure.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can Call/Limit Reverse target Reaper?

 

You can, but Spirit Reaper's effect will destroy itself as it is being continuously targeted by the Continuous Trap card.

 

Also, when Reaper attacks directly, you do discard a card before or after your opponent has opportunity to play Gorz/Trag?

 

Both Spirit Reaper and Gorz are Trigger Effects that would activate at the same time. Reaper is Chain Link #1 while Gorz will be Chain Link #2. Gorz will Special Summon itself first, then Reaper will let you select 1 of the remaining cards in their hand to discard.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have some questions on timing... basically the following scenarios with card effects, "?" is just part of the effect

 

When ? you can ?

When ? "manditory" ?

If ? you can ?

If ? "manditory" ?

 

Not sure if that is specific enough of a question but could u give examples of when of each kind would miss timing?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have some questions on timing... basically the following scenarios with card effects, "?" is just part of the effect

 

When ? you can ?

When ? "manditory" ?

If ? you can ?

If ? "manditory" ?

 

Not sure if that is specific enough of a question but could u give examples of when of each kind would miss timing?

 

"When + You can" is the only combination that will miss the timing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have some questions on timing... basically the following scenarios with card effects, "?" is just part of the effect

 

When ? you can ?

When ? "manditory" ?

If ? you can ?

If ? "manditory" ?

 

Not sure if that is specific enough of a question but could u give examples of when of each kind would miss timing?

 

When...

If... you can...

If...

 

Those 3 effects never miss the timing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...