Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

...I misread the line. ._.

 

In any case:

 

If your opponent activates Dimensional Prison on one of your monster's attacks, you can use [No. 39 Aspiring Emperor Hope]'s effect to negate your own attack, and dodge that card's effect.

 

This does not work on Mirror Force.

 

Is this correct?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yes. Dimensional Prison specifically mentions "the attacking monster" and negating the attack will mean there is no attacking monster. Mirror Force, in contrast, destroys all monsters in Attack Position, regardless of whether an attack is still taking place at resolution.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On the wiki, it says its a Trigger Effect, not a Quick Effect, meaning you wouldn't be able to activate it as Chain Link #2 to Dimensional Prison. It would make more sense as a Quick Effect though, so the wiki might be wrong, at least until there are some ruling if its Quick or Trigger. If its a Quick Effect, then you can.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I have a question...

 

1st: When a crystal beast monster is in the Spell/trap card zone, can you use them for an Synchro Summon or Tribute Summon b/c they are monsters?

 

No. Bolded part is wrong.

 

They're treated as Continuous S/Ts while in the S/T Zone. They specifically say so.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question:

 

Suppose Thor, Lord of the Aesir is destroyed by my opponent. During the End Phase, I remove a Nordic Beast Tuner as the cost, but Thor's effect is negated, by something like Solemn Warning or Herald of Perfection. If I have another Nordic Beast Tuner in my Grave, can I attempt to revive it again, or is it a one-time attempt?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question:

 

Suppose Thor, Lord of the Aesir is destroyed by my opponent. During the End Phase, I remove a Nordic Beast Tuner as the cost, but Thor's effect is negated, by something like Solemn Warning or Herald of Perfection. If I have another Nordic Beast Tuner in my Grave, can I attempt to revive it again, or is it a one-time attempt?

 

I'd assume it's like Stardust in that you can't try again.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question:

 

Suppose Thor, Lord of the Aesir is destroyed by my opponent. During the End Phase, I remove a Nordic Beast Tuner as the cost, but Thor's effect is negated, by something like Solemn Warning or Herald of Perfection. If I have another Nordic Beast Tuner in my Grave, can I attempt to revive it again, or is it a one-time attempt?

 

It will only activate once during the End Phase, because its Trigger (or Condition to activate) was only triggered once.

 

The Condition is "If this face-up card on the field was destroyed by your opponent's card (either by battle or by card effect) and sent to the Graveyard this turn." If that happens, then you get the effect that activates during the End Phase. You can admit to the fact that the condition only happened once during the turn, so therefore that effect can activate once. Thor was not "face-up, destroyed by opponent, and sent to the Graveyard" a second time, so therefore it would not activate a second time.

 

To try and relate it outside of Yugioh, there are two fake trigger effects!!

 

A: "If I see you wearing a Blue Shirt today, you can get one dollar from me between 5:00pm and 6:00pm". Here, its simple, The condition is to "wear a blue shirt today", and the trigger is "between 5:00pm and 6:00pm" to get the effect "get one dollar". If you come see me at 5:00pm, and I see you're wearing that Blue Shirt right now, then I can give you your dollar. Let's say I get a bad case of amnesia and forgot everything that just happened today, and didn't give you the dollar (i.e. negated!). I look at my request sheet and still see you with a Blue Shirt on (and it is still "Today"), and the time is right (between 5 and 6), so you can get one dollar from me.

 

B: "If you go to my mailbox and get today's mail for me before noon, you can get one dollar from me between 5:00pm and 6:00pm". Here, you get the mail and bring it to me in the morning around 10am. When you come to get your money at 5pm, right as soon as I was about to give it to you, my chronic amnesia comes back and I forget everything that happened today. In this case, when you tell me that you got the mail for me this morning, I can't see that you did that by looking at you, nor do I remember you doing that, so unless you can somehow bring me my mail again before noon, I wont give you one dollar.

 

Meh, that's the best I could do on these explanations to try and make some sense here. Remember some actions in yugioh are tracked throughout the turn like "whether or not a monster battled during the turn", so even if the activation was negated, the monster card still remembers that it battled this turn for example, so it doesn't really fit well with example B, but try and work with it at the Yugioh level, not some weird real life level I put it at. Gladiator Beast Secutor is an example of a monster that can activate multiple times during the "End of the Battle Phase" if its activation is negated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you Synchro Summoned Stardust whilst your opponent has Real Crusader, when it's effect activates can you use Stardust's effect to negate it?

 

Yes, you can. Real Crusader does not negate the Summon, so Stardust is considered on the field when Crusader's effect activates. As it will destroy a card on the field, Stardust may use its effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If "Reborn Tengu" is sent back to the hand through the effect of "Brionac, Dragon Of The Ice Barrier" and I discard "The Fabled Cerrubel" to activate "Brionac, Dragon Of The Ice Barrier" What Happens?

 

Well, Brionac will bounce Tengu by its effect. Then, both Cerburel and Tengu's effects will activate, Special Summoning a Reborn Tengu from the Deck, and Cerburrel from the Graveyard.

 

Both Tengu and Cerburrel are mandatory effects. They will not miss the timings and must be activated if possible. You choose which is Chain Link 1 and 2.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Well, Brionac will bounce Tengu by its effect. Then, both Cerburel and Tengu's effects will activate, Special Summoning a Reborn Tengu from the Deck, and Cerburrel from the Graveyard.

 

Both Tengu and Cerburrel are mandatory effects. They will not miss the timings and must be activated if possible. You choose which is Chain Link 1 and 2.

 

;)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I got into a disagreement with an alleged "level 1 judge" regarding Tanngjnostr and Tanngrisnir of the Nordic Beast.

 

Tanngnjostr states "When a monster you control is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, you can Special Summon this card from your hand. ..."

 

Tanngrisnir states "When this card is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, Special Summon 2 "Nordic Beast" tokens..."

 

Now, what happened is Tanngrisnir was destroyed in battle and I Special Summoned Tanngnostr by its effect, as well as the 2 tokens from Tanngrisnir's effect.

 

The disagreement is that I supposedly cannot Special Summon Tanngnostr because it "misses the timing". I argued that they have the same timing. His basis is that Tanngrisnir's mandatory effect must activate and resolve, at which point it is too late to Summon Tanngnostr. He emphasized that it's because Tanngrisnir is mandatory and Tanngnostr is optional. My basis is that they have the same activation timing and will both activate.

 

Who is correct?

 

EDIT: *glanced a few inches up on the official rulings sheet (having been looking at Tanngnostr) Sees Tanngrisnir's rulings: 'You can Chain the effect of Tanngnjostr of the Nordic Beasts to this card’s effect."

 

Son of a **! I WAS RIGHT!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I got into a disagreement with an alleged "level 1 judge" regarding Tanngjnostr and Tanngrisnir of the Nordic Beast.

 

Tanngnjostr states "When a monster you control is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, you can Special Summon this card from your hand. ..."

 

Tanngrisnir states "When this card is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, Special Summon 2 "Nordic Beast" tokens..."

 

Now, what happened is Tanngrisnir was destroyed in battle and I Special Summoned Tanngnostr by its effect, as well as the 2 tokens from Tanngrisnir's effect.

 

The disagreement is that I supposedly cannot Special Summon Tanngnostr because it "misses the timing". I argued that they have the same timing. His basis is that Tanngrisnir's mandatory effect must activate and resolve, at which point it is too late to Summon Tanngnostr. He emphasized that it's because Tanngrisnir is mandatory and Tanngnostr is optional. My basis is that they have the same activation timing and will both activate.

 

Who is correct?

 

EDIT: *glanced a few inches up on the official rulings sheet (having been looking at Tanngnostr) Sees Tanngrisnir's rulings: 'You can Chain the effect of Tanngnjostr of the Nordic Beasts to this card’s effect."

 

Son of a **! I WAS RIGHT!

What 2 Letter Curse world are you trying to use??

XD

and did u accept the Judges ruling?

Cause if that caused a lost, that'd stink...

 

Few Years

 

about 7 days iirc

That isn't too bad of an amount of time... I'll accept that

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I got into a disagreement with an alleged "level 1 judge" regarding Tanngjnostr and Tanngrisnir of the Nordic Beast.

 

I hope the players here are satisfied with my Level 0 Judge rulings, even if they might be wrong... all those unruled OCG cards we know nothing about x.x I wonder, if I did was it takes to become a judge, does that force me to participate in official events? That's not something i'd want to do... probably =o

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I hope the players here are satisfied with my Level 0 Judge rulings, even if they might be wrong... all those unruled OCG cards we know nothing about x.x I wonder, if I did was it takes to become a judge, does that force me to participate in official events? That's not something i'd want to do... probably =o

Your grammar seems a little off

but you wanna be like a judge?

but don't want to be part of events?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What 2 Letter Curse world are you trying to use??

XD

and did u accept the Judges ruling?

Cause if that caused a lost, that'd stink...

 

Heh, just a habit I indulge in sometimes. On another forum, all curses are censored as two asterisks, regardless of the word. So on that forum, rather than actually swear, I self-censor by typing two asterisks instead.

 

No, I was in the middle of arguing and looking up the ruling when I got called to supper. While I said I'd be right back (and made a draw offer if he didn't want to wait), he said "No, I have complete control, no draw" and reported me for sportsmanship. This was on Dueling Network, so the report considers the duel my win (probably to keep people from reporting someone when they lose) but lowers my reputation score.

 

Considering that regardless of the ruling, I was probably going to lose eventually, I'm not too bothered.

 

The fact I was right just makes it annoying. I hear people claim that official judges make errors all the time and others claim to BE judges as proof they know the rulings, so I tend to disregard credentials altogether.

 

I hope the players here are satisfied with my Level 0 Judge rulings, even if they might be wrong... all those unruled OCG cards we know nothing about x.x I wonder, if I did was it takes to become a judge, does that force me to participate in official events? That's not something i'd want to do... probably =o

 

I consider you the undisputed highest authority on rulings on YCM, with me as the second highest. Usually I come to you if I have a ruling issue that I can't figure out/find source. And because of you, I actually learned a great deal about rulings.

 

Actually, a second question now:

 

Suppose my opponent uses Enemy Controller on Odin and uses it to destroy my Thor. During the End Phase, does Thor come back?

 

My opponent (definitely not a judge, nor claiming to be) said that it was my card that destroyed Thor, so Thor won't come back. I pointed out that "opponent's card" refers to the controller of the card that did the destroying (Odin being owned by me has no impact on my opponent destroying Thor while controlling it).

 

I chose not to revive Thor, since I didn't need it to win, but I'm curious on what determines what "the opponent's card" is, for all effects that apply that rule (Scrap Dragon Synchros, Polar Gods).

 

Which brings up another question while I'm at it.

 

If Odin is controlled by Enemy Controller and uses its effect to make itself immune to S/Ts, what happens at the End Phase in regards to control reverting?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...