Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Smashing Ground doesn't work.

 

Hero Blast may or may not dodge around it too, I'll have to check.

 

Hero Blast would not work because you do not know if it will destroy a "Morphtronic" at activation. What it destroys is determined during the resolution of Hero Blast (during resolution where the player decides which monster to destroy based on half the ATK of the monster).

 

Smashing Ground doesn't work for the same reason, because the monster that it destroys is determined during Resolution, not activation (During resolution where it determines which monster has the Highest DEF).

 

In order to activate "Morphtronic Forcefield", you must definitely know they will destroy a Morphtronic at activation. If the targets are decided during the resolution of the card (Magical Dimension, Hero Blast), the card mechanics determine what will be destroyed during resolution (Fissure, Smashing Ground, etc), or otherwise may or may not destroy it (Snipe Hunter), then you cannot activate "Morphtronic Forcefield".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So Forcefield only has 10 common negation targets.

 

And even then, 1 of them is almost exclusively negateable if the opponent is an idiot, and 2 of them require me to run Slingen. On top of that, most of the ones remaining are Limited, or only run at 1 to begin with.

 

Dammit.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 Questions.

 

1. Can Trap Monsters be over-laid for an Exceed Shoukan?

 

2. If player A controls "Imperial Custom." and Player B Contains a card like "LSS Shi En." Can Player B use it's effect to stop a newly activated Continuous Trap?

 

1- Yes.

 

2- I believe so. Imperial Custom specifies "faceup" and Shi En negates the activation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I Special Summon a self-Tributing monster like Possessed Dark Soul with the effect of Tour Guide from the Underworld, can I use its effect or is it affected by Tour Guide's restriction?

 

EDIT:

Debris Dragon rulings say no to that... scratch it ^-^"

Instead: Do the Djin's work with it if they are used for a Ritual after being brought out by Tour Guide? =0

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can i use the effect of Summoner of Illusions to tribute a monster on my opponent side of the field?

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Summoner_of_Illusions

 

Only if you're using Soul Exchange.

 

You cannot Tribute monsters your opponent controls unless an effect specifically grants you that ability (Lava Golem, Reptilianne Vaskii, Soul Exchange, etc).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1) If my face-up Spirit Reaper is targeted by Black Ray Lancer/Effect Veiler, what happens?

 

2) If Spirit Reaper attempts to destroy itself while Doomcalibur Knight is on the field, what happens?

 

3) If I use Leodrake's Mane on Bambooshoot, do I get back the effect during the end phase?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1) If my face-up Spirit Reaper is targeted by Black Ray Lancer/Effect Veiler, what happens?

 

2) If Spirit Reaper attempts to destroy itself while Doomcalibur Knight is on the field, what happens?

 

3) If I use Leodrake's Mane on Bambooshoot, do I get back the effect during the end phase?

 

1) Spirit Reaper doesn't self-destruct until the targeting effect has resolved. In this case, the negation of its effect. Spirit Reaper will not self-destruct, but it can be destroyed in battle.

 

2) Spirit Reaper's self-destruct does not start a chain. Doomcalibur Knight will not do anything.

 

3) Yes. The effects and ATK =3000 both last until the End Phase.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can someone neatly explain the reasons why and when Call of the Haunted gets stuck on the field? I understand the reasons but I'm having trouble explaining. Also could you provide a link to a credible source that explains this along with other rulings?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nother question: If an effect monster activates it's effect and I book it, does the effect still activate?

 

Depends on the effect. Most Ignition effects will activate regardless, as will most Trigger Effects. However, effects that require the activating monster to be "faceup" or otherwise has an effect based on its ATK/DEF, Level, or Attribute will be no longer able to verify those stats.

 

Do you have a specific monster effect in question?

 

Can someone neatly explain the reasons why and when Call of the Haunted gets stuck on the field? I understand the reasons but I'm having trouble explaining. Also could you provide a link to a credible source that explains this along with other rulings?

 

It's actually very simple. Call of the Haunted says if the monster is "destroyed", Call is destroyed. However, if the monster revived by its effect is not destroyed, but instead "sent to the Graveyard" or otherwise removed from the field without being "destroyed", Call remains on the field meaninglessly.

 

Situations it will remain is if the monster is:

 

- Tributed

- Used as Synchro, Fusion, Ritual, or Exceed Material

- Returned to hand/deck

- Is RFGed without being "destroyed".

- Flipped facedown

- Call is negated when the monster is destroyed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It's actually very simple. Call of the Haunted says if the monster is "destroyed", Call is destroyed. However, if the monster revived by its effect is not destroyed, but instead "sent to the Graveyard" or otherwise removed from the field without being "destroyed", Call remains on the field meaninglessly.

 

Situations it will remain is if the monster is:

 

- Tributed

- Used as Synchro, Fusion, Ritual, or Exceed Material

- Returned to hand/deck

- Is RFGed without being "destroyed".

- Flipped facedown

- Call is negated when the monster is destroyed.

 

Yes I understand that. I'm just wondering if you could direct me to a credible link. I'l be the fastest way to make my friend shut up.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes I understand that. I'm just wondering if you could direct me to a credible link. I'l be the fastest way to make my friend shut up.

 

You could always just tell him to shut up :3 If the monster is removed from the field without being destroyed, is flipped face-down so that it can no longer be targeted by Call of the Haunted, Call of the Haunted was negated when the monster was destroyed, or Call of the Haunted could not be destroyed (such as with Imperial Custom), then it'll sit face-up on the field doing nothing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

There is no real link. It's on the card. It specifically says "if the monster is destroyed". If an effect removes the monster without "destroying", Call isnt destroyed. Also on Call, it says if Call itself is "removed from the field" the monster is destroyed. There's already a distinction between the two methods of being moved from the field. If Call leaves the field by any means, the monster is destroyed, but ONLY if the monster is "destroyed", will Call also be destroyed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Genex Ally Birdman cannot be summoned by returning an opponent's monster under my control to their hand, correct?

 

I don't see why not. It says "return it to the hand". It doesn't say "your hand". You can return your opponent's monster you control to your opponent's hand to Special Summon Birdman.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...