Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

So, am I right in thinking this?

 

Opponent activates an effect, I respond with Formula Synchron to Synchro Summon Black Rose/Trishula. I'd miss the timing to activate those monsters' effects, right?

 

Correct. Formula Synchron would be Chain Link #2 and would Synchro Summon Trishula/Black Rose Dragon. Then Chain Link #1 resolves (the effect your opponent activated). The last thing to happen was your opponent's card's effect, not the Synchro Summon of your monster, so both Trishula and Black Rose Dragon's optional trigger effect will miss the timing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If Shooting Quasar Dragon is successfully Veiler'd, it can no longer attack after Veiler wears off, correct?

 

Will Skill Drain let Quickdraw Synchron be used for any Synchro Summon?

 

Will Stardust's effect work with Skill Drain? Doesn't it resolve in the graveyard?

 

No.

 

Yes.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If Shooting Quasar Dragon is successfully Veiler'd, it can no longer attack after Veiler wears off, correct?

 

Shooting Quasar's multiple attack effect is Continuous and the number of attacks is determined by how many non-Tuner Synchros were used. Having its effect negated does not remove "knowledge" of how many monsters were used to Synchro Summon it (Flipping it facedown would). When Veiler/Skill Drain is no longer in effect, it will regain its multiple attacks.

 

I could be wrong, but I'm pretty sure that's the case.

 

Will Skill Drain let Quickdraw Synchron be used for any Synchro Summon?

 

Will Stardust's effect work with Skill Drain? Doesn't it resolve in the graveyard?

 

Quickdraw Synchron's text is not an effect, but a Condition. Conditions cannot be negated. The same is true for Debris Dragon, Fishborg Blaster, etc.

 

Yes. Tributing Stardust is the cost, and when its effect resolves, it's no longer "face-up on the field" so Skill Drain has no effect on it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can you Tribute Archlord Kristya for Lava Golem?

 

No, you cannot. With Archlord Kristya on the field, you cannot performing any Special Summons, and you cannot even make an attempt to do so. You cannot activate any cards that would Special Summon at activation. You cannot pay the costs for any inherent Special Summons either (such as Tributing 2 of your opponent's monsters for Lava Golem).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I play Morphtronic Map/Geartown facedown immediately before flipping it faceup and my opponent uses Shi En's effect to negate, does the Special Summon still go off?

 

Geartown only requires that it is "Destroyed and sent to the Graveyard", so it would not have to have been destroyed while on the field. It would activate whether you set it first or activate it straight from the hand.

 

For Morphtronic Map, it states "Destroyed and sent from the field to the Graveyard", so yes, you can set Morphtronic Map face-down, then flip it up to activate it. If the activation is negated, you will get Morphtronic Map's effect since it was destroyed and sent from the field to the Graveyard. It would not activate it if you played it straight from the Hand, so be sure to set it first.

 

Good thing I checked: Tried it in WC10 and Morphtronic Map does not work if its activation was negated, even if you set it first, though i'm not sure where the card is considered "destroyed from" if not from the field.

 

Edit: If the Flip Summon of Sangan is negated (did this with Solemn Judgment), then its effect does not activate either. So I guess if your activation or Flip Summon is ever negated, then you were not on the field... ever... even if technically you were. o.o;

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yo... okay... REALLY Stupid question:

If I set a field spell do I set it in the regular 5 Spell/Trap Card Zones? or on the Field Spell Position?

Because in WC11 it goes in the field spell position... and thart doesn't seem right...

 

Idk y i'd ever set a field spell... but still...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yo... okay... REALLY Stupid question:

If I set a field spell do I set it in the regular 5 Spell/Trap Card Zones? or on the Field Spell Position?

Because in WC11 it goes in the field spell position... and thart doesn't seem right...

 

Idk y i'd ever set a field spell... but still...

 

The game is correct. Field Spell Cards that are set are set in your Field Spell Card Zone.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Idk y i'd ever set a field spell... but still...

 

Field Spells like Geartown, Morphtronic Map, and Machine Imperial Castle get their effects when sent to the Graveyard, but you activating a new Field Spell will cause them to miss the timing, while Setting one will not. Setting a new Field is also a way to remove the effects of your own Field Spells (like Necrovalley). You may also want to Set a Field Spell you dont want to use right away, such as if you anticipate your hand being discarded.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you use Call of the Haunted to revive a Jinzo will Jinzo Cancel it and die?

 

No. Jinzo will be Special Summoned and Call of the Haunted will sit negated on the field. If Call of the Haunted is removed from the field while it is negated, it will not destroy the targeted monster, in this case, Jinzo.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question about Priority and SEGOC:

 

Say both players have two Mystical Space Typhoon. As turn player, I have priority to activate mine first. However, does this mean I also have Priority to chain to it first, or does Priority pass to the opponent before I can activate my 2nd Mystical Space Typhoon?

 

I was talking with my friends about Magic earlier, and I guess in that game you can chain whatever the hell you want as much as possible before you have to pass Priority to the opponent, and I realized I forgot how it works in Yugioh. >_>

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Question about Priority and SEGOC:

 

Say both players have two Mystical Space Typhoon. As turn player, I have priority to activate mine first. However, does this mean I also have Priority to chain to it first, or does Priority pass to the opponent before I can activate my 2nd Mystical Space Typhoon?

 

I was talking with my friends about Magic earlier, and I guess in that game you can chain whatever the hell you want as much as possible before you have to pass Priority to the opponent, and I realized I forgot how it works in Yugioh. >_>

 

Activating your card as Chain Link #1 is you using your priority. Once used, Priority is then given to your opponent. They can either activate something as Chain Link #2 or pass priority back to you. If they pass it back to you without activating anything, then you can activate a card as Chain Link #2.

 

Does Magic have direct counter cards like Yugioh does, where things require specific timing or specific card activations? I haven't seen too many "Instant" cards in Magic, or have I really played it much, but the ones i remember just perform an action that's on the cards, not counter other cards, so perhaps its not as necessary as it is in Yugioh.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In Magic, from what I remember, the Counter cards are all Instants that say "Counter Target Spell", plus whatever other conditions there are. So if there are four effects on the Stack (chain), then when you activate "Negate", you choose which of those cards to Counter.

 

Player 1: Activates four effects

Player 2: Responds with "Negate", targeting the second card on the stack

 

It's way more free with Magic, I guess. I think it's why stuff in Yugioh, like chaining Magic Cylinder and Mirror Force to each other, never made much sense to me. =/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In Magic, from what I remember, the Counter cards are all Instants that say "Counter Target Spell", plus whatever other conditions there are. So if there are four effects on the Stack (chain), then when you activate "Negate", you choose which of those cards to Counter.

 

Player 1: Activates four effects

Player 2: Responds with "Counter", targeting the second card on the stack

 

It's way more free with Magic, I guess. I think it's why stuff in Yugioh, like chaining Magic Cylinder and Mirror Force to each other, never made much sense to me. =/

 

I see. If you can just simply tell it which card to counter in the Chain, then its less of an issue than it is in Yugioh, and "Priority" also becomes less of an issue.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...