Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

No, while Protector is faceup, you may not willfully activate any effect that requires the opponent to draw. However, resolving effects or mandatory effects will still apply.

 

If you have Protector and a f/d Morphing Jar, you may not Flip Summon Jar. However, if it is attacked or flipped up by another effect, the opponent will still discard, but not draw.

 

If you activate Card Destruction and chain Desert Sunlight to flip Protector faceup, Card Destruction will still resolve, except the opponent will not draw. This is because Card Destruction is already activated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you have Protector and a f/d Morphing Jar, you may not Flip Summon Jar. However, if it is attacked or flipped up by another effect, the opponent will still discard, but not draw.

 

Incorrect. You may Flip Summon Morphing Jar just fine because all you're doing as the player is "Flip Summoning Morphing Jar". You don't say "I activate my Morphing Jar by flipping it face-up!", but instead "I Flip Summon Morphing Jar. Because it was flipped face-up, my Morphing Jar's FLIP effect activates!". You aren't doing anything to willingly activate Morphing Jar's effect directly; you didn't choose to do it, its because of the flip!. Morphing Jar itself is like "OMGWTF I'VE BEEN FLIPPED BLARGHGHG" and activates its mandatory effect on its own.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Incorrect. You may Flip Summon Morphing Jar just fine because all you're doing as the player is "Flip Summoning Morphing Jar". You don't say "I activate my Morphing Jar by flipping it face-up!". You aren't doing anything to willingly activate Morphing Jar's effect directly. Morphing Jar itself is like "OMGWTF I'VE BEEN FLIPPED BLARGHGHG" and activates its mandatory effect on its own.

 

BEST. RULING. EXPLANATION. EVER.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Incorrect. You may Flip Summon Morphing Jar just fine because all you're doing as the player is "Flip Summoning Morphing Jar". You don't say "I activate my Morphing Jar by flipping it face-up!", but instead "I Flip Summon Morphing Jar. Because it was flipped face-up, my Morphing Jar's FLIP effect activates!". You aren't doing anything to willingly activate Morphing Jar's effect directly; you didn't choose to do it, its because of the flip!. Morphing Jar itself is like "OMGWTF I'VE BEEN FLIPPED BLARGHGHG" and activates its mandatory effect on its own.

Sanctuary troll.dek anyone?

 

And the last bit made me lol.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I wonder which ruling I got the Morphing Jar thing confused with, then.

 

Oh well, good to know.

 

Other than effects that prevent Flip Summons, the only other thing I could think of is Pole Position shenanigans that would prevent you from Flip Summoning if it would cause an infinite loop. There's nothing that would prevent you from Flip Summoning a Flip Effect monster due to its Flip Effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I've got The Fabled Unicore on my field (hand at 2)

My opponent has 4 cards in their hand.

They activate Dark Hole (hand is now 3)

Can I chain my facedown Jar of Greed (to make my hand 3 aswell) and negate Dark Hole or would it miss the timing?

 

Thanks for your answer.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I've got The Fabled Unicore on my field (hand at 2)

My opponent has 4 cards in their hand.

They activate Dark Hole (hand is now 3)

Can I chain my facedown Jar of Greed (to make my hand 3 aswell) and negate Dark Hole or would it miss the timing?

 

Thanks for your answer.

 

The Fabled Unicore negates the activation of cards while you both have the same amount of cards in the hand at resolution of the card.

 

If they activate Dark Hole (3 cards left in hand) and you activate Jar of Greed (2 cards in hand).

 

Chain Link #1 - Dark Hole (Opp: 3 cards)

Chain Link #2 - Jar of Greed (You: 2 cards)

 

Resolving.

 

Chain Link #2 - You draw 1 card (You: 3 cards)

Chain Link #1 - You both now have 3 cards in your hand. The activation of Dark Hole is negated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can Genex Ally Birdman bounce a Synchro to summon itself?

 

The official rulings don't clearly state either way. All they say is that it's a cost and that PSZ can't be returned to the hand like that if it would be RFP'd. Nothing seems to say whether or not returning a Synchro counts for it. :S

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I thought not.

 

It's a cost that specifically says to return it to "the hand". Much like "send to the Graveyard", if the cost cannot be literally paid, it doesn't work. RFG is different because it doesn't specify "the RFG zone".

 

You also cannot use Tokens, but I think you knew that one.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can Genex Ally Birdman bounce a Synchro to summon itself?

 

The official rulings don't clearly state either way. All they say is that it's a cost and that PSZ can't be returned to the hand like that if it would be RFP'd. Nothing seems to say whether or not returning a Synchro counts for it. :S

 

Its the cost of activating Genex Ally Birdman to return the card to the hand. If it cannot be returned to the hand, then you cannot pay the cost.

 

Since Synchros cannot be returned to the hand (as they would be returned to the Extra Deck instead), you cannot use a Synchro Monster for the cost of Genex Ally Birdman.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Quick question on General Raiho of the ice barrier

 

does his effect work in the damage step?

for example i attacked my opponents face-down legendary jujitsu master with my General Raiho

 

i need a quick answer please

 

General Raiho's effect is Continuous. It is always active while it is face-up on the field.

 

Your opponent must discard a card, or Legendary Jujitsu Master's effect is negated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can I target a Token with Brionac to destroy it?

Ditto for Book of Moon

 

Yes. Tokens disappear when they are removed from the field.

 

No. Tokens cannot be flipped facedown by any means; they are not cards at all. You may not target one with Book of Moon, and they are unaffected by Book of Eclipse.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I've heard Stadust cannot negate Dragunity Aklys, because it activates in the graveyard, and Stardust says "negate and destroy", and cards in the graveyard cannot be destroyed.

 

I've also heard Necrovalley prevents the Majestics from returning to the Extra at the end of the turn, because the return and the special summon are all part of the same effect.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I've heard Stadust cannot negate cards that Dragunity Aklys, because it activates in the graveyard, and Stardust says "negate and destroy", and cards in the graveyard cannot be destroyed.

 

I've also heard Necrovalley prevents the Majestics from returning to the Extra at the end of the turn, because the return and the special summon are all part of the same effect.

 

1) Stardust CAN negate Aklys. It won't be "destroyed" since it's already in the Graveyard, but it can and will be negated.

 

2) Necrovalley does not prevent the Majestics from returning, but it will prevent the Special Summon. There is nothing preventing the Majestic from returning to the Extra Deck, only something preventing the Special Summon. You will still return the Majestic even if Stardust/Red Dragon isn't in the Graveyard.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...