Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This is kind of a silly question, but is there a trap that

"Activate when your opponent declares an attack. The attack is negated"

 

Without anything else like Negate Attack or Scrap-iron Scarecrow?

 

No, there isn't. Closest would be Hero Barrier or Scrap Iron Scarecrow if you just want it to "Negate the Attack" and absolutely nothing else.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I chain Poseidon Wave to another of the same, does the second one resolving effect dissapears, or does it work like Cylinder?

 

What do you mean like "or works Like Cylinder?"

 

You can activate multiple Magic Cylinders in one chain but only one will resolve successfully. Magic Cylinders MUST negate the attack in order to inflict damage. If you chain two together, only one will negate the attack, so only one can inflict Damage.

 

Poseidon Wave would do the same thing. It must be able to negate the attack. If it cannot negate the attack, then it cannot inflict damage.

 

For both Poseidon Wave and Magic Cylinder, activating multiples copies to the same attack will only waste them.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, let's say that the effect of my Scrap Dragon destroys Scrap Goblin with Scrap Searcher in the Graveyard. Can/Do either of them miss the timing?

 

[spoiler=Searcher]

When a "Scrap" monster you control, except "Scrap Searcher", is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard while this card is in the Graveyard, you can Special Summon this card from your Graveyard. When this card is Special Summoned, destroy all face-up monsters you control, except "Scrap" monsters.

 

 

 

[spoiler=Scrap Goblin]

This card cannot be destroyed by battle. If this face-up Defense Position card is selected as an attack target, destroy this card at the end of the Battle Phase. If this card is destroyed by the effect of a "Scrap" card and sent to the Graveyard, you can select 1 "Scrap" monster in your Graveyard, except "Scrap Goblin" and add it to your hand.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, let's say that the effect of my Scrap Dragon destroys Scrap Goblin with Scrap Searcher in the Graveyard. Can/Do either of them miss the timing?

 

[spoiler=Searcher]

When a "Scrap" monster you control, except "Scrap Searcher", is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard while this card is in the Graveyard, you can Special Summon this card from your Graveyard. When this card is Special Summoned, destroy all face-up monsters you control, except "Scrap" monsters.

 

 

 

[spoiler=Scrap Goblin]

This card cannot be destroyed by battle. If this face-up Defense Position card is selected as an attack target, destroy this card at the end of the Battle Phase. If this card is destroyed by the effect of a "Scrap" card and sent to the Graveyard, you can select 1 "Scrap" monster in your Graveyard, except "Scrap Goblin" and add it to your hand.

 

 

As mentioned in another post not too long ago, this is a case of two effects that share the same timing for activation. Both have a right to activate and they both can and would chain together. Both are optional effects so either can be Chain Link #1 or Chain Link #2.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So, to clarify, missing the timing is when an effect interferes with the timing of an optional effect.

 

You miss the timing for an optional effect if the last thing to happen in the duel wasn't your card's trigger. (This applies when your card's trigger uses the word "When". If a card's trigger uses the word "If" (like in Scrap Goblin's case), it will never miss the timing).

 

In your case, the last thing to happen was the destruction of two cards, your Scrap Goblin and your opponent's card and both of them being sent to the Graveyard. Any cards who's timing meets those requirements can be activated.

 

Because the last thing to happen was "Scrap Goblin was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard", Scrap Goblin gets its effect. Also because of that last action, the trigger "When a Scrap monster is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard while this card is in the Graveyard" of Scrap Searcher is also tripped. Both can activate.

 

It doesn't even have to be an effect of a card to cause a missed timing, but is most commonly the case. For example, A Chain Link is enough to cause a card to miss the timing, even if that Chain Link nothing effectively happened (such as when activating a Continuous Trap Card to simply have it face-up, or resolving a card's effect that had been negated, or if its activation was negated).

 

Edit: **One thing to note that I did not mention (which caused my example to be incorrect). Even though Scrap Goblin is an optional effect, it's effect does not have a specified timing. The word "If" in its effect instead of the word "When" allows it to never miss the timing. In purely speaking terms, If you're asked to do something "WHEN" something happens, in Yugioh, you must do it at that pinpoint moment when it happened. When the word "If" is used instead of "When", this type of trigger only has a condition for activation rather than a specific timing. In these cases, the optional effects will activate when the current chain ends, unlike my previous example I had here before, but that was my mistake.**

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ok, here we go:

 

I have a face up thunder king and another thunder king set. Opponent summons debris and synchs for black rose with sangan. (sangan doesn't get search because of rai-oh). I negate black rose with thunder king, but does he then get the sangan search?

 

I think no since sangan was sent to the graveyard while rai-oh was on the field and it misses the timing, but opponent thought otherwise.

 

Can anybody justify this to me please?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ok, here we go:

 

I have a face up thunder king and another thunder king set. Opponent summons debris and synchs for black rose with sangan. (sangan doesn't get search because of rai-oh). I negate black rose with thunder king, but does he then get the sangan search?

 

I think no since sangan was sent to the graveyard while rai-oh was on the field and it misses the timing, but opponent thought otherwise.

 

Can anybody justify this to me please?

 

Sangan never misses the timing because its effect is mandatory. After Rai-oh activates (and that chain resolves) which negates the Synchro Summon of Black Rose Dragon using "Debris Dragon" and "Sangan", "Sangan" will activate in a new chain as Chain Link #1.

 

Hypothetically if Sangan could miss the timing, it would miss the timing because it was used for a Synchro Summon where sending it to the Graveyard could never be the last thing to happen.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Me and my brother got in an argument over this:

 

I activate Skill Drain.

Next turn, he summons Jinzo.

 

What's negated?

 

Jinzo

He can't turn his effect "on".

The same thing happens to Wildheart.

If Jinzo is out first, his effect is already "on" and negates Skill Drain before it can turn "on"

 

That's just a way to think about it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Iirc, in any situation like this, the first card on the field takes priority. Am I correct on this?

 

Continuous Effects already on the field will be applied first, before a new Continuous Effect applies itself.

 

For example, If Gravekeeper's Priestess is face-up on the field, and the field is being treated as Necrovalley, and then Maiden of the Aqua is summoned, Gravekeeper's Priestess' effect applies itself again first, and the field is treated as "Necrovalley", and then Maiden of the Aqua resolves and the field becomes "Umi". The field cannot simultaneously be considered both "Necrovalley" and "Umi". While both cards remain face-up on the field, the field will be treated as "Umi".

 

In the same fashion, if "Skill Drain" is face-up on the field and Jinzo is Summoned, Skill Drain applies its effects first to the monsters on the field, then Jinzo's Continuous Effects tries to apply itself but it is negated due to Skill Drain. (and vice versa)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In TCG, yes

In OCG, no

 

Only in the TCG. The OCG recently revoked the priority rule for Ignition Effect Monsters. The TCG did not and has no active plans to do so.

 

You two are right, but there is another factor when accounting for Lyla.

 

If she is not in Face-up Attack Position on the field when her effect resolves, she cannot change battle position and cannot destroy the selected card.

In most cases, this will act like she doesn't have Priority anyway.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...