Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Effects that send to the Graveyard still work even when Macro/D-Fissure are in play. The appropriate cards will be sent to the RFG zone instead. However, you cannot "send to the Graveyard" as a cost while these cards are out, because fulfillng the cost is not possible. (Lightsworn End Phase effects are not costs).

 

This is why Gravekeeper's Servant is an attack lock when Macro/Fissure is out, because the top card of the deck cannot reliably be "sent to Grave".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No, it can't be Summoned from anywhere but its hand by its own effect.

 

That's a shame, that ruined the consistency of Megarocksworn OTK. Okay then, do you know of any cards that could get Megarock onto the field from the Graveyard (other than the obvious ones, of course, i.e. Reborn)?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That's a shame, that ruined the consistency of Megarocksworn OTK. Okay then, do you know of any cards that could get Megarock onto the field from the Graveyard (other than the obvious ones, of course, i.e. Reborn)?

 

All Summoning Conditions apply in the hand unless specifically stated otherwise on the card (Endymion, the Master Magician/Machina Fortress, for examples).

 

No. Megarock Dragon is a Nomi. It cannot be Special Summoned EXCEPT from the hand by the conditions mentioned. Monster Reborn wouldn't work. Theoretically, if it was properly Summoned first and you use a card to "ignore the Summoning Conditions", you can bring it back from the Graveyard, but it'll have 0 ATK, since its ATK depends on the number of Rocks you removed for its Summoning, and that value doesn't apply when it's been removed from the field, had its effect negated, or was flipped facedown.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Random, dumb question that I've always wanted to figure out:

 

If I have Zombie World and Archfiend Zombie-Skull in play, and I proceed to use Magical Hats (while keeping Skull guy face-up), will the Spell/Trap Cards be treated as Zombies?

 

If I activate Ceasefire, will they survive through Magical Hats' destruction effect?

 

If one of the cards is Toon World, can I proceed to start Special Summoning Toon monsters while "Toon World" is a monster on the field?

 

If one of the cards is like Gravity Bind or Swords Of Revealing Light, would their effects be considered active?

 

kthxbye

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Random, dumb question that I've always wanted to figure out:

 

If I have Zombie World and Archfiend Zombie-Skull in play, and I proceed to use Magical Hats (while keeping Skull guy face-up), will the Spell/Trap Cards be treated as Zombies?

 

If I activate Ceasefire, will they survive through Magical Hats' destruction effect?

 

If one of the cards is Toon World, can I proceed to start Special Summoning Toon monsters while "Toon World" is a monster on the field?

 

If one of the cards is like Gravity Bind or Swords Of Revealing Light, would their effects be considered active?

 

kthxbye

 

1) No, they're facedown as this time and thus their types are unknown.

 

2) Now this part I'm not sure about. Magical Hats does not designate a "type" to the S/Ts Summoned by its effect, which to me implies they don't have one.

 

Okay, I checked the ruling. Magical Hats monsters do NOT have a Type. They are unaffected by cards like Rivalry of Warlords and Zombie World.

 

3) I think "yes" because Toons just require a card called "Toon World" on the field, and it's not Toon World itself that allows the Summoning. Toon World being destroyed afterwards does not affect the Toons because of the below.

 

4) No. The effects of the S/Ts do not apply, as they are treated as monsters, not S/Ts, and were not activated. (Similarly, the effects of Monster Cards treated as S/Ts do not apply unless they specifically have an effect in that situation, like some Dragunities.)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3) I think "yes" because Toons just require a card called "Toon World" on the field, and it's not Toon World itself that allows the Summoning.

 

While Toon monsters only require a card named "Toon World" to be on the field, using Magical Hats and Ceasefire would be done during the Battle Step. You wouldn't be able to Special Summon any Toons at this time anyway (except ones that were Special Summoned properly first in the Graveyard with something like Call of the Haunted). Even then, once Toon World is destroyed either by battle or by Magical Hats' effect, your Toons would be destroyed by their own effects.

 

Toon World being destroyed afterwards does not affect the Toons because of the below.

 

"Toon" monsters being destroyed when Toon World is destroyed IS NOT an effect of "Toon World", it is an effect of the Toon Monster. Toon World doesn't even have an effect >_>; Toon Kingdom needs to be released.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

True. However, Toon monsters can be Special Summoned by other means, like Call of the Haunted. Their text appears to be Semi-Nomi in nature. That comment had been purely theoretical while I searched for the answer to the Type question.

 

D'oh! That's what I get for not actually reading Toon World. I forgot its effect wasn't "When this card is destroyed, destroy all faceup Toons" and was instead "Pay 1000 LP to activate this card", and the destruction clause was on the Toons themselves.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

True. However, Toon monsters can be Special Summoned by other means, like Call of the Haunted. Their text appears to be Semi-Nomi in nature. That comment had been purely theoretical while I searched for the answer to the Type question.

 

Then yes, theoretically, if there were a face-up monster card named "Toon World" then yes, that would allow Toon monsters to be Special Summoned. Would have to find some Spell Speed 2 effect that would that could protect the "Toon World" monster from being destroyed Magical Hats. Once Ceasefire flips "Toon World" face-up, activate "Forbidden Lance"? That should protect it from being destroyed by Magical Hats during the end of the Battle Phase.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Does Gladiator Beast War Chariot, negate the effects of Graveyard Searchers like "Nova Summoner" etc?

 

Yes. It negates any Monster Effect that activates (any Non-Continuous Effect). Nova Summoner's effect that searches is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. Gladiator Beast War Chariot can negate it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thank you.

 

Machina Fortress rams into Shi En while they have another Six Sam. Do I have to declare a target for Fortress first, or do they have to choose whether or not to redirect the destruction from the battle before I do?

 

Would I be breaking an rules at a tournament if I were to pull out a print-out of the rulings from the official site to prove that Morphtronic Accelerator doesn't have a cost?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thank you.

 

Machina Fortress rams into Shi En while they have another Six Sam. Do I have to declare a target for Fortress first, or do they have to choose whether or not to redirect the destruction from the battle before I do?

 

Would I be breaking an rules at a tournament if I were to pull out a print-out of the rulings from the official site to prove that Morphtronic Accelerator doesn't have a cost?

 

No, Fortress' effect occurs when it's destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard. Shi En chooses to save itself during damage calculation, before Fortress would be sent to the Graveyard. This protection effect does not start a chain.

 

No, you would not be. It is advised you know the rulings, and if it's from the official site, all the more power behind it in case of dispute.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Machina Fortress rams into Shi En while they have another Six Sam. Do I have to declare a target for Fortress first, or do they have to choose whether or not to redirect the destruction from the battle before I do?

 

Redirecting the destruction is done during Damage Calculation when Shi En would be destroyed, waaaay before Machina Fortress is sent to the Graveyard from being destroyed by Battle.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can you activate Starlight Road while having 5 monsters?

 

Do you still mill for LS if macros/dfissure is out?

 

Yes. Summoning Stardust is optional, so Starlight Road can be activated even if you dont have a Stardust or if you cannot Summon it.

 

Yes. The appropriate cards will be removed from play instead. When Macro/Fissure it out, you just can't "send to Graveyard" as costs.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Would I be breaking an rules at a tournament if I were to pull out a print-out of the rulings from the official site to prove that Morphtronic Accelerator doesn't have a cost?

OMG! You cheated by knowing the rules!

 

Sorry, that thought came up when I read this and made me lol.

 

Anyway, wattsquirel kills tuningware. I bring the same tuningware back. Is it's effect still negated? And if so, would I still draw when I synchro with it?(not sure if it's one of those effects like quickdraws replacement effect.)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...