Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Splendid Venus vs. Light Barrier (the Arcana Force field spell)

 

If I control Splendid Venus, can Light Barrier turn itself off?

Do I still flip a coin during my Standby Phases?

Let's say Splendid Venus does prevent the negation but I still flip a coin for it. If I flip a tails and Splendid Venus was later removed from the field, would Light Barrier become negated?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Grr. Confused it with Solemn >_<

Mkay den

 

Splendid prevents your S/Ts from being negated. Solemn cannot chain to a Spell or Trap while Splendid's on the field.

 

 

Splendid Venus vs. Light Barrier (the Arcana Force field spell)

 

If I control Splendid Venus, can Light Barrier turn itself off?

Do I still flip a coin during my Standby Phases?

Let's say Splendid Venus does prevent the negation but I still flip a coin for it. If I flip a tails and Splendid Venus was later removed from the field, would Light Barrier become negated?

 

You must still flip a coin every one of your Standby Phases. However, Light Barrier will not have its effects negated regardless of the outcome, because Venus states your S/T effects can't be negated.

 

If Splendid Venus leaves the field while the result was tails, Light Barrier will be negated until the Standby Phase because it still "records" what the last outcome was.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I control Splendid Venus, can Light Barrier turn itself off?

 

No.

 

Do I still flip a coin during my Standby Phases?

 

Yes.

 

Let's say Splendid Venus does prevent the negation but I still flip a coin for it. If I flip a tails and Splendid Venus was later removed from the field, would Light Barrier become negated?

 

If Splendid Venus is removed, and the coin flip was Tails, then Light Barrier is negated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 Tuner Synchro Monster + 2 or more non-Tuner Synchro Monsters

This card can attack a number of times equal to the number of Synchro Material Monsters used to Synchro Summon it. When this card attacks, you can negate the activation of an effect that would negate another card's activation or effect until the end of the Battle Phase. Negate any effect damage you would take. This card is unaffected by the effects of your opponent's monsters. When this card is removed from the field, destroy all monsters on the field and Special Summon 1 "Shooting Star Dragon" from your Extra Deck. This Special Summon is treated as a Synchro Summon.

 

What does that part mean, exactly. Are there any TCG applications for such an effect?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 Tuner Synchro Monster + 2 or more non-Tuner Synchro Monsters

This card can attack a number of times equal to the number of Synchro Material Monsters used to Synchro Summon it. When this card attacks, you can negate the activation of an effect that would negate another card's activation or effect until the end of the Battle Phase. Negate any effect damage you would take. This card is unaffected by the effects of your opponent's monsters. When this card is removed from the field, destroy all monsters on the field and Special Summon 1 "Shooting Star Dragon" from your Extra Deck. This Special Summon is treated as a Synchro Summon.

 

What does that part mean, exactly. Are there any TCG applications for such an effect?

 

That's a weird one, since this is a Monster Effect, and therefore Spell Speed 2, meaning it cannot stop Counter Traps.

 

That leaves it with the ability to negate things like Stardust Dragon, Horus Lvl 8, and other Spell Speed 2 or below effects that both ACTIVATE (Royal Decree is therefore unaffected) and negate something.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 Tuner Synchro Monster + 2 or more non-Tuner Synchro Monsters

This card can attack a number of times equal to the number of Synchro Material Monsters used to Synchro Summon it. When this card attacks, you can negate the activation of an effect that would negate another card's activation or effect until the end of the Battle Phase. Negate any effect damage you would take. This card is unaffected by the effects of your opponent's monsters. When this card is removed from the field, destroy all monsters on the field and Special Summon 1 "Shooting Star Dragon" from your Extra Deck. This Special Summon is treated as a Synchro Summon.

 

What does that part mean, exactly. Are there any TCG applications for such an effect?

 

The effect is incorrect.

 

The effect is "When this card attacks, negate the activation of an effect that would negate another card's activation or effect until the end of the Battle Phase. It is not a "YOU CAN" ability.

 

This effect is a Continuous Effect. When the card attacks, this card negates cards that attempt to negate other cards. Because it is Continuous, it can negate cards such as Solemn Warning when it tries to negate a Spell/Trap or Monster Effect that Special Summons for example. It doesn't negate itself because its own effect is Continuous and therefore doesn't "activate" and this only negates the "activation of an effect".

 

Success Probability 0%

Trap Card

Send 2 random cards from your opponent's Extra Deck to the Graveyard.

 

I assume this still works even thought the card itself says fusion deck.

 

Where did you get that effect from? >_> I have yet to see any errata for this. If you're making it up yourself, then its wrong Dx.

 

The effect of "Success Probability 0%" is "Send 2 random Fusion Monsters from your opponent's Extra Deck to the Graveyard." Success Probability 0% will only randomly remove Fusion Cards from the Opponent's Extra Deck. Synchros/Exceeds are not affected.

 

In this case, if your opponent has at least 2 Fusion Cards in their Extra Deck, randomly select cards from the Extra Deck until 2 Fusion Monsters are picked up. Send those two to the Graveyard and return the rest to the Deck. If they do not have 2 Fusion Monsters in their Extra Deck, you can look at their Extra Deck to verify.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Psi-Blocker prevents a card with the name you choose from being used and negates it's effects until the end of your opponent's next turn; this means that said card (if a monster) also cannot attack if I'm correct. However, can it still be used as a Tribute or Fusion/Synchro material? Can you change the battle position of the card, etc.?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Psi-Blocker prevents a card with the name you choose from being used and negates it's effects until the end of your opponent's next turn; this means that said card (if a monster) also cannot attack if I'm correct. However, can it still be used as a Tribute or Fusion/Synchro material? Can you change the battle position of the card, etc.?

 

From the things you mentioned...

 

A monster that cannot be used...

 

Can: be used as a Tribute.

 

Cannot: Attack, Be used as a Fusion/Synchro Material Monster, Be Fusion/Synchro Summoned by using Fusion/Synchro Material Monsters (Instant Fusion is A-OK~), Change Battle Position.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

From the things you mentioned...

 

A monster that cannot be used...

 

Can: be used as a Tribute.

 

Cannot: Attack, Be used as a Fusion/Synchro Material Monster, Be Fusion/Synchro Summoned by using Fusion/Synchro Material Monsters (Instant Fusion is A-OK~), Change Battle Position.

 

Haha, sorry for the list xP Thanks~

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wolf, did you test the card out to see if it worked, by the way? I'm just still caught up by the fact it says "All Field Spell Cards". It's weird wording for destroying a card there can only be 1 of at a time, but since it also says "on the field" that makes me think it's different also. Then again, it WAS a really old card, and their OCG was still being worked out.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Wolf, did you test the card out to see if it worked, by the way? I'm just still caught up by the fact it says "All Field Spell Cards". It's weird wording for destroying a card there can only be 1 of at a time, but since it also says "on the field" that makes me think it's different also. Then again, it WAS a really old card, and their OCG was still being worked out.

 

Since you asked, I did go to test it in WC2010 and it did work as I explained.

 

The most amount of Field Spell Cards you can have on the field are two, not one, in the rare event that you have a face-up Field Spell Card on the field and the opponent has a Field Spell Card face-down on the field.

 

Edit: Well, technically you can have more (say with the effect of Magical Hats), but face-down Field Spell Cards that are treated as monsters are unknown. A face-down Field Spell Card in a Field Spell Card zone must clearly be a Field Spell Card.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Can Morphtronic Celfon activate both of its effects in the same turn?

 

I was thinking yes, but WC11 says no.

 

Yes, you can, or at least you should be able to. It gets two different effects based on its Battle Position. Both effects are restricted to once per turn, but if you can change the Battle Position, you should be able to activate the other effect, since that effect was not activated that turn.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...