Bringerofcake Posted February 22, 2011 Report Share Posted February 22, 2011 Shark is an "if" effect, which means that it doesn't miss the timing, if I'm right. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 22, 2011 Report Share Posted February 22, 2011 Shark is an "if" effect, which means that it doesn't miss the timing, if I'm right. Yes, you are indeed correct. I didn't notice the word "If". Disregard that part of my post. *goes to strike it out and correct it* Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
seattleite Posted February 23, 2011 Report Share Posted February 23, 2011 In WC09 - I attacked directly with Spirit Reaper while Burden was out (ATK: 0), and the discard effect didn't trigger. Was this just a bug? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 23, 2011 Report Share Posted February 23, 2011 In WC09 - I attacked directly with Spirit Reaper while Burden was out (ATK: 0), and the discard effect didn't trigger. Was this just a bug? Nvm what I first said, misread Spirit Reaper's effect from memory :o In any case, a "Direct Attack" is not considered successful in this case if you were not able to inflict Direct Damage. Without inflicting Direct Damage, the attack is considered unsuccessful and that will be why it did not activate. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 23, 2011 Report Share Posted February 23, 2011 The ruling for Spirit Reaper is it must inflict Battle Damage from a direct attack to get a discard. Kuriboh, Waboku, etc will negate any damage and no discard will occur. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BDKMRV Posted February 23, 2011 Report Share Posted February 23, 2011 If you book overdragon, does its atk go to 0? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 23, 2011 Report Share Posted February 23, 2011 Yes. When facedown, attack changes are reset. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
burnpsy Posted February 24, 2011 Report Share Posted February 24, 2011 Light and Darkness Dragon is summoned while Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror is in play. Infinite Loop? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super Yugi Go Posted February 24, 2011 Report Share Posted February 24, 2011 Light and Darkness Dragon is summoned while Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror is in play. Infinite Loop? “Light and Darkness Dragon's” first effect is a Continuous Effect that makes its Attributes both LIGHT and DARK while it is face-up on the field "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror" cannot negate the Continuous Effects of DARK monsters “Light and Darkness Dragon's” second effect can only activate once during the Chain. If a Spell, Trap, or effect of an Effect Monster is chained to the second effect of “Light and Darkness Dragon”, “Light and Darkness Dragon’s” second effect will not activate again in that same Chain LaDD is summoned. Its continuous effect activates treating it as a dark monster, and Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror cannot negate this effect since it's continuous. If LaDD attempts to activate its second effect while SiM is on the field, a chain would start: Card -> LaDD -> SiM. Since LaDD can't activate twice during the same chain, the chain resolves backwards and its entire effect is still negated and LaDD loses no ATK since its effect didn't resolve. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BDKMRV Posted February 24, 2011 Report Share Posted February 24, 2011 If my opponent summons Odin and calls priorty on his effect, may I chain with Bottomless? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Nu-13 Posted February 24, 2011 Report Share Posted February 24, 2011 Yes. The chain will resolve 1st to resolve - BTH2nd - Odin So, Odin gets RFPed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 24, 2011 Report Share Posted February 24, 2011 *wince* Don't word it like that. You're right, but it makes chain rules sound confusing. Chain Link 1- OdinChain Link 2- Bottomless. Resolving backwards: Chain Link 2: Bottomless destroys and removes Odin from play.Chain Link 1: Odin is no longer on the field. Resolves with no effect. That makes Odin's greatest weakness the fact it can't save itself from Summon responses. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
burnpsy Posted February 24, 2011 Report Share Posted February 24, 2011 Under the new priority rule, would Naturia Barkion still be able to negate Bottomless being used in response to its summon? I'm thinking that it can. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expelsword Posted February 24, 2011 Report Share Posted February 24, 2011 Under the new priority rule, would Naturia Barkion still be able to negate Bottomless being used in response to its summon? I'm thinking that it can. That's not priority, that's responding to a trap card... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
burnpsy Posted February 24, 2011 Report Share Posted February 24, 2011 That's not priority, that's responding to a trap card... Precisely what I was thinking. I was just verifying there. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 24, 2011 Report Share Posted February 24, 2011 Under the new priority rule, would Naturia Barkion still be able to negate Bottomless being used in response to its summon? I'm thinking that it can. Naturia Barkion is a Quick Effect, not an Ignition Effect. "Priority" refers to the right to activate effects, but the change in the OCG refers to a player's ability to call priority to the Ignition effects of their own monsters when a monster is Summoned. Since Naturia Barkion is a Quick Effect, nothing about how it works will change in the OCG. Only Ignition Effects are affected by the new rules. For example, If I Normal Summon "Lonefire Blossom", normally I can call priority to its effect immediately and Tribute it, making it Chain Link 1, before a card like "Torrential Tribute" could be activated. With the new rules for OCG, cards that can be chained to a Successful Summon can be played first because a player can rightfully activate an Ignition Effect. Therefore, If I Normal Summon "Lonefire Blossom", I cannot call priority to use its effect right away, and if my opponent activated "Torrential Tribute" to its summon, "Lonefire Blossom" will be destroyed before I get the chance to activate its effect. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Father Wolf Posted February 24, 2011 Report Share Posted February 24, 2011 If i have Skill Drain active on my field (or anyone's field for the matter) and lets say i machine dupe "Malefic Parallel Gear" getting 3 out. Then Synchroing for "Malefic Paradox Dragon" and he is successfully Summoned (my opponent doesnt respond or anything) can i Synchro for more than 1 because of "Skill Drain". The only ruling i found is this one: "Even if "Skill Drain" is negating the effect "There can only be 1 of this card face-up on the field." of a monster like "Rai-Jin" or "Guardian of Order", the effect of copies of "Rai-Jin" or "Guardian of Order" in your hand will still be active, so you still cannot Normal Summon a second copy of "Rai-Jin" or "Guardian of Order"." But because Paradox Dragon is in the Extra Deck does this still apply to him? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 Yes. The conditions regarding Summoning and existing simultaneously still apply to all copies in the hand, deck, Graveyard, and Extra deck, while they're there or anywhere you could possibly Summon them. The only way to have multiple copies is to have one facedown, Summon another copy, have Skill Drain active, and have the other copy forcibly flipped (Attacked, Ceasefire, etc. You can't Flip Summon it because it registers another Sin Paradox Dragon faceup on the field). If Skill Drain is not active, the copy that was once facedown will be immediately destroyed when turned faceup. This is true for all Sins or Earthbound Immortals. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 If i have Skill Drain active on my field (or anyone's field for the matter) and lets say i machine dupe "Malefic Parallel Gear" getting 3 out. Then Synchroing for "Malefic Paradox Dragon" and he is successfully Summoned (my opponent doesnt respond or anything) can i Synchro for more than 1 because of "Skill Drain". The only ruling i found is this one: "Even if "Skill Drain" is negating the effect "There can only be 1 of this card face-up on the field." of a monster like "Rai-Jin" or "Guardian of Order", the effect of copies of "Rai-Jin" or "Guardian of Order" in your hand will still be active, so you still cannot Normal Summon a second copy of "Rai-Jin" or "Guardian of Order"." But because Paradox Dragon is in the Extra Deck does this still apply to him? For any and all cases of "There can only be 1 [insert Monster Name/Type] on the field", treat this as both a "Continuous Effect" that applies on the field, as well as a Summoning Condition. Consider it as both and it'll help understand its rulings. In all these examples, assume "Skill Drain" is on the field... In your example, you cannot Special Summon "Malefic Paradox Dragon" if you already control a "Malefic Paradox Dragon" on the field. When considered as a "Summoning Condition", the Malefic Paradox Dragon in the Extra Deck prevents it from being Special Summoned. (In this case, the Summoning Condition prevents you from Special Summoning when it'll cause you to have two of them). Another example: If a Properly Special Summoned "Malefic Paradox Dragon" was in the Graveyard, you would not be able to select "Malefic Paradox Dragon" as a target for Monster Reborn while you already control a "Malefic Paradox Dragon". Third Example: If you have a "Malefic Paradox Dragon" on the field, and you flip it face-down via "Book of Moon" (or you Interdimensional Matter Transporter to remove it from the field) , then you may Special Summon a second "Malefic Paradox Dragon". You MAY NOT Flip Summon the face-down "Malefic Paradox Dragon" on the field while you control the face-up "Malefic Paradox Dragon". While "Skill Drain" is on the field, if the face-down "Malefic Paradox Dragon" is flipped face-up (via either an attack or by a card effect or when Interdimensional Matter Transporter returns the removed monster onto the field), Skill Drain's effect will prevent the second "Malefic Paradox Dragon" from being destroyed (this is where Skill Drain is preventing the "Continuous Effect" from destroying it while controlling two of them). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bthepanda Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 If I have two Tech Genus Werewolves in my hand and special summon one of them by it's own effect can I then special summon the second Werewolf after the first is successfully special summoned? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 If I have two Tech Genus Werewolves in my hand and special summon one of them by it's own effect can I then special summon the second Werewolf after the first is successfully special summoned? I don't see why not. Werewolf is a level 4 or below monster that gets Special Summoned. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ihop Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 If you book of eclisple a morphing jar, would your opponent draw first then discard, or discard first then draw? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 If you book of eclisple a morphing jar, would your opponent draw first then discard, or discard first then draw? Flipping the monsters Face-Up and Drawing is a part of Book of Eclipse's effect. You can't just activate a new effect in between the effects of a card that's resolving. Since you're flipping the monsters face-up due to Book of Eclipse, you draw for Book of Eclipse first as you're still resolving its effect. After that, then Morphing Jar's effect will activate and if that goes through, discards the hand and draws 5 cards. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cypress Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 if i atack directly with spirit reaper and the only card in their hand is gorz, whats the turn of events with their resolving effects? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 25, 2011 Report Share Posted February 25, 2011 if i atack directly with spirit reaper and the only card in their hand is gorz, whats the turn of events with their resolving effects? Spirit Reaper inflicts damage. At this timing, both Gorz and Spirit Reaper activate. Spirit Reaper is a mandatory effect controlled by the turn player, and is automatically Chain Link 1 when simultaneous effects activate. Chain Link 1: Spirit ReaperChain Link 2: Gorz Resolving backwards. Chain Link 2: Gorz is Summoned and Specal Summons a token.Chain Link 1: Spirit Reaper attempts to discard. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.