Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

Really dumb question but

 

Say I have Elemental Hero Wildedge on my field, and the opponent has a revival jam (equipped with mist body), shapesnatch, and a facedown card. I attack shapesnatch and the opponent activates their facedown Jam Defender, redirecting the attack to revival jam. Wildedge's effect states that"This card can attack all monsters your opponent controls once each". So, can I attack shapesnatch again? Can I attack revival jam again?

 

And yes, I know all the cards listed above suck and that this would never happen in a tournament...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Really dumb question but

 

Say I have Elemental Hero Wildedge on my field, and the opponent has a revival jam (equipped with mist body), shapesnatch, and a facedown card. I attack shapesnatch and the opponent activates their facedown Jam Defender, redirecting the attack to revival jam. Wildedge's effect states that"This card can attack all monsters your opponent controls once each". So, can I attack shapesnatch again? Can I attack revival jam again?

 

And yes, I know all the cards listed above suck and that this would never happen in a tournament...

 

You've already declared an attack on Shapesnatch and cannot select him to attack again. Wildedge can only declare an attack on Revival Jam left.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Do my Synchros have to have the same card sleeves as my Deck? I think they do, but I just wanted to ask. If it is true, then I'll have to buy a second package of them to be able to sleeve them all...

The sleeves just need to be the same color because you are supossed to shuffle without knowing which card is which. You don't shuffle the cards in the Extra deck, so it doesn't need to look like the rest. Having them different can even be useful, as you'll not shuffle your synchros with your deck by mistake...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It's good to have them different, avoid the Gaia Knight situation from YCS Dallas.

 

On that same note, which do you people find superior: Same sleeves for the Side Deck VS Different sleeves for the Side Deck.

 

Also, scenario:

 

Player has 3 monsters out, plays 141, sends Dandy. What happens?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If an equip card that requires a monster to be a specific type is equipped (example: Divine Sword - Phoenix Blade to a Warrior-type monster), and then the equipped monster's type is changed (example: Reptilianne Rage), what happens to the first equip card?

 

It depends on the card text.

 

If it says that "This card can only be equipped to a <Type> monster", then if the type changes, then it is no longer a valid monster to be equipped to it and it is destroyed. The way its written, it can only be equipped at any time to the monster of that type. Basically, the way its worded here refers to "The Card's" ability to be equipped to a monster.

 

If it says "Equip only to a <Type> monster.", then you can only equip it to a monster of that type, but if the type changes, then the card is NOT destroyed. This is because the way this is written here, you only have to equip it to a monster of that type, but it doesn't say that "it can only be equipped" to that type, so a type change is OK. In this case, the way it is worded here refers to "A Player's" ability to Equip the card.

 

Divine Sword - Phoenix Blade states "Equip only to a Warrior-Type Monster". Therefore, it the type of the equipped monster changes, Phoenix Blade will NOT be destroyed.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Karakuri monsters.

 

My Karakuri monster is selected as an attack target, and I activate Dimensional Prison. Does the Karakuri monster still change its battle position? What if I had negated the attack (using a different card such as Negate Attack)?

 

 

From what I understand, "must attack if able" means that I must enter my Battle Phase and all attack position cards that can attack must. So can I, during my Main Phase, change my Karakuri monsters to defense position before entering my Battle Phase so they do not attack, or can I not change their battle position because they "must attack if able"?

 

 

 

Jurracs

 

Jurrac Guaiba and a monster with equal ATK destroy each other in battle. Does Guaiba's effect still activate? I ask beause the wiki gives rulings for Karakuri Ninja Kuick, Blackwing- Shura the Blue Flame, but not Guaiba.

 

 

 

The local tournament I play at has a terrible reputation for not knowing rulings, and even worse for not at least hearing me out regarding those rulings. So I need something concrete to bring with me. Anyone who can post a liable source for the Karakuri rulings will receive a rep or whatever else within reason.

 

Thank you.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Karakuri: I'd imagine they turn to defense as soon as selected, regardless of what happens beyond that.

If turned to defense, they are no longer able. They will not stop you from doing this.

 

Jurracs: I'm 90% sure it won't trigger. 10% Konami's making stuff up again.

 

What level 4 or lower monsters that can be Special Summoned by sending/discarding a card in your hand can people think of? Non-tuners, preferably.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Karakuri monsters.

 

My Karakuri monster is selected as an attack target, and I activate Dimensional Prison. Does the Karakuri monster still change its battle position? What if I had negated the attack (using a different card such as Negate Attack)?

 

 

From what I understand, "must attack if able" means that I must enter my Battle Phase and all attack position cards that can attack must. So can I, during my Main Phase, change my Karakuri monsters to defense position before entering my Battle Phase so they do not attack, or can I not change their battle position because they "must attack if able"?

 

 

 

Jurracs

 

Jurrac Guaiba and a monster with equal ATK destroy each other in battle. Does Guaiba's effect still activate? I ask beause the wiki gives rulings for Karakuri Ninja Kuick, Blackwing- Shura the Blue Flame, but not Guaiba.

 

 

 

The local tournament I play at has a terrible reputation for not knowing rulings, and even worse for not at least hearing me out regarding those rulings. So I need something concrete to bring with me. Anyone who can post a liable source for the Karakuri rulings will receive a rep or whatever else within reason.

 

Thank you.

 

Karakuri: Yes. Being selected as an attack target is what triggers the switch. Whether the attack is successful does not matter.

 

A Karakuri monster in ATK position forces a player to enter his Battle Phase (same as Berserk Gorilla and Savage Colosseum). Karakuris in ATK position must attack, unless some effect is preventing them from doing so (Gravity Bind, Nightmare Wheel, etc). If they are in Defense Position, they cannot legally attack, and so are unaffected by their "must attack" effects.

 

Guaiba says "destroys a monster in battle". It does not say "and sends it to graveyard". Its effect will still activate, even if it died in the battle.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If I flip my Scrap Golem face down with book of moon, can I then flip it face-up and re0use its effect?

 

A player can manually change a monster's Battle Position once per turn.

 

A player can no longer manually change a monster's Battle Position if they've declared an attack with that monster this turn.

 

Performing a Flip Summon is also considered to be a manual change of a monster's Battle Position from Face-Down Defense Position to Face-Up Attack Position.

 

Addition thanks to evilfusion: A monster cannot manually change their battle position if they had been Summoned that turn.

 

Therefore, If you haven't changed Scrap Golem's battle position manually yet this turn, haven't declared an attack with it this turn, and had not already been Summoned that turn, then yes, you can Flip Summon the Scrap Golem and reuse its effect.

 

Ans also If I use book of moon to flip my oppoenents attacking monster, can they flip it face up at main phase 2?

 

No, because a monster who has declared an attack cannot change its battle position anymore that turn. They would need to use a card effect like "Book of Taiyou".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Random question is random~

Robolady/Roboyarou's effect:

You can Special Summon "Super Robolady" by returning this card from the field to the Extra Deck. You cannot use this effect during the same turn this monster is Special Summoned. This card gains 1000ATK by doing [X].

Is the "You cannot use this effect during the same turn this monster is Special Summoned." actually treated as an effect?

(For some reason I'm thinking about Quickdraw Synchron)

If it is an actual effect, would it bypass Skill Drain? Like returning it to the Extra Deck is a cost and junk?

 

Because then Roboyarou/Lady + Skill Drain + Cyber Summon Blaster would be an OTK O,o

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Random question is random~

Robolady/Roboyarou's effect:

 

Is the "You cannot use this effect during the same turn this monster is Special Summoned." actually treated as an effect?

(For some reason I'm thinking about Quickdraw Synchron)

If it is an actual effect, would it bypass Skill Drain? Like returning it to the Extra Deck is a cost and junk?

 

Because then Roboyarou/Lady + Skill Drain + Cyber Summon Blaster would be an OTK O,o

IIRC, if a monsters effect activates on the field, even if it is removed from the field (whether by being tributed for its effect or your case) Skill Drain still negates it because it negates all monster effects on the field.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No, it's not an effect, but a condition, similar to Debris Dragon and Quickdraw. Even with the effect negated, you cannot activate the effect if it was Special Summoned that turn.

 

IIRC, if a monsters effect activates on the field, even if it is removed from the field (whether by being tributed for its effect or your case) Skill Drain still negates it because it negates all monster effects on the field.

 

Not true. A monster's effect is not negated if it's removed from the field before the effect resolves. In the case of Super Robolady/etc, removing it from the field is PART of the effect and will be negated, keeping that monster on the field. Stardust Dragon and Exiled Force Tribute themselves as the COST for their effects, and they are no longer on the field, so Skill Drain does not negate them.

 

Note that Skill Drain specifically states "faceup monsters" on the field. If the monster is facedown or otherwise absent when its effect would resolve, it is not negated.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...