evilfusion Posted February 10, 2011 Report Share Posted February 10, 2011 In order to NOT miss the timing, being sent to the Graveyard must literally be the last thing to occur in the chain/event. If you Tribute it for a Tribute Summon or cost, the last thing to occur is a monster being Summoned/whatever effect the cost was for. Same thing with using it for a Synchro. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted February 11, 2011 Report Share Posted February 11, 2011 Can Stardust Dragon/ Assault Mode negate Gorz? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 11, 2011 Report Share Posted February 11, 2011 Can Stardust Dragon/ Assault Mode negate Gorz? Yes, you can. Gorz will be negated and destroyed and will be sent from the Hand to the Graveyard. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luis El Lincer Posted February 11, 2011 Report Share Posted February 11, 2011 so what's the deal with CARD OF SACRIFICE??? do i draw two cards first then i check if the attack of my monsters is lower than my opp's. Do i need to control at least or exactly 2 face-up attack position monsters to activate this card?? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 11, 2011 Report Share Posted February 11, 2011 so what's the deal with CARD OF SACRIFICE??? do i draw two cards first then i check if the attack of my monsters is lower than my opp's. Do i need to control at least or exactly 2 face-up attack position monsters to activate this card?? To activate it, you must control 2 or more ATK position monsters. Your opponent must control at least 1 ATK position monster, whose ATK is greater than the combined ATK of all your ATK position monsters. If this is fulfilled, you draw 2. Otherwise, the activation conditions are not correct. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sephiroth_The_Legend Posted February 11, 2011 Report Share Posted February 11, 2011 In order to NOT miss the timing, being sent to the Graveyard must literally be the last thing to occur in the chain/event. If you Tribute it for a Tribute Summon or cost, the last thing to occur is a monster being Summoned/whatever effect the cost was for. Same thing with using it for a Synchro. that is amazingly lame. so basically, it only gets if effect if destroyed by battle and thats if the monster doesn't have an extra effect... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 11, 2011 Report Share Posted February 11, 2011 that is amazingly lame. so basically, it only gets if effect if destroyed by battle and thats if the monster doesn't have an extra effect... If a monster had a "When this card destroys an opponent's monster by battle and sends it to the Graveyard" trigger, then the Attacking Monster's effect and Dupe Frog's effect would chain together. What kind of "Extra Effects" were you thinking of? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 11, 2011 Report Share Posted February 11, 2011 No, you'll get the effect if it's sent to the graveyard for something other than a cost/Tribute Summon/Synchro. If it's destroyed in battle or destroyed by an effect, it'll get its effect. Missing the timing isn't THAT unreasonablely restrictive. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tourmaline Posted February 11, 2011 Report Share Posted February 11, 2011 Quick questions. They're mainly related. Thor versus Wicked Avatar in battle. On your turn, would Avatar's ATK drop to 0? If Thor were to kill Eraser in battle, would everything on the field be destroyed? As long as Thor is on the field, all monsters the opponent controls practically become vanillas during your turn. Or Dandylion, for example. If Thor destroyed Dandylion, would the two Fluff Tokens be Special Summoned? Because as long as Thor is on the field and Dandylion has no effect, would an effectless Dandylion check if it was destroyed while in the Graveyard or not? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 11, 2011 Report Share Posted February 11, 2011 Thor versus Wicked Avatar in battle. On your turn, would Avatar's ATK drop to 0? Once per turn, you can negate the effects of all face-up monsters your opponent controls, until the End Phase. This is an Ignition Effect. You activate it during your Main Phases. If it successfully resolves, then The Wicked Avatar's ATK will be 0 because its effect will be negated while your opponent controls it for the rest of that turn. If Thor were to kill Eraser in battle, would everything on the field be destroyed? As long as Thor is on the field, all monsters the opponent controls practically become vanillas during your turn. Thor's effect only negates face-up cards the opponent controls. In this way, it works exactly like Skill Drain does, except its limited to your opponent's monsters. If the card is removed from the field, then it is no longer negated, so Stardust Dragon will still work even if negated on the field by Thor since it resolves in the Graveyard. In your example, Wicked Eraser will activate in the Graveyard and resolve there, and yes, everything on the field will be destroyed. Or Dandylion, for example. If Thor destroyed Dandylion, would the two Fluff Tokens be Special Summoned? Because as long as Thor is on the field and Dandylion has no effect, would an effectless Dandylion check if it was destroyed while in the Graveyard or not? Read the response to Question #2. Thor works like a Skill Drain for your opponent's monsters. So long as the card is no longer under your opponent's control, the effects will resolve successfully (Cards in the Graveyard are not under anyone's control). So yes, Dandylion will activate and resolve, gaining its tokens. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canadian Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 Guy I saw used Gateway's effect and removed 6 counters to Special Summon Legendary Six Samurai Shi En from his Graveyard. Did he cheat? Gateways lore clearly says "Shien" not "Shi-En"... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Nu-13 Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 He cheated. Shi En's japanese name doesn't include the kanji that other Shien's have. That's why it's "Shi En" in TCG, to avoid confusion with Gateway Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 Cards like that are very specific. I wouldn't call it "cheating", just that he's wrong. Shi En is not a "Shien". It's similar to Blackfeather/Black-Winged Dragon. It's not part of the BF/Blackwing archetype and has a different spelling specifically because of that. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BDKMRV Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 My opponent attacks my monster and I play Mirror Force, my opponent plays Seven Tools of Bandit.Does a replay of the attack occur? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Nu-13 Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 No, because a number of monsters on the field didn't change Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BDKMRV Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 So I can't play Book of Moon or anything else right? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 You can use Book of Moon. Attacks are broken into stages. - Attack Declaration (1 chain allowed, then proceeds to Battle Step)- Battle Step (no limit to chains. When all chain attempts are resolved, proceed to Damage Step)- Damage Step (determines what monsters die in battle. Only specific types of cards can be activated) Mirror Force can only be used during Attack Declaration. Since your opponent used Seven Tools, you may not activate any more cards that activate at attack declaration (Negate Attack, Scrap-Iron Scarecrow, etc). Book of Moon can be used during the Battle Step or Attack declaration. Replays occur when the targeted side of the field changes the number of monsters BEFORE the Damage Step. The removal of a monster during the damage step, even the monster that was attacked (SD/AM pulls this off easiest) does not cause a replay. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 The Battle Step includes before an Attack is declared and when an Attack is declared. After Attack Declaration resolves successfully, it goes into the Damage Step. "Battle Step" is not something that occurs between Attack Declaration and Damage Step, but it includes Attack Declaration. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 Oh, right. I think I just wanted to distinguish the timing differences. Cards that activate in response to an attack (Sakuretsu Armor, Mirror Force, Negate Attack) can't be used after the attack declaration. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 Correct, those cards can't, but you cannot activate cards that don't have to respond to Attack Declarations either, such as Book of Moon, after Attack Declaration is successful. In any case, if Attack Declaration is successful, consider the Battle Phase ended at that point immediately and the Damage Step started. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 You have just broken my understanding of the Battle Phase. What? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 You have just broken my understanding of the Battle Phase. What? After Attack Declaration is SUCCESSFUL, meaning that ONE chain that you mentioned when an attack is declared, the Battle Phase moves to the Damage Step at that time. There is no between time between "Successful resolution of Attack Declaration" and "Damage Step" Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canadian Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 My field: Shi En and KizanOpponent activates Dark Hole, can I destroy Kizan via Shi En's effect to keep him on the field or do they all just die? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted February 12, 2011 Report Share Posted February 12, 2011 My field: Shi En and KizanOpponent activates Dark Hole, can I destroy Kizan via Shi En's effect to keep him on the field or do they all just die? Shi En's effect (just like any other Six Samurai monster's "destroy another Six Samurai instead" effect) is optional and therefore, Shi En nor Kizan are considered to have any sort of immunity to destruction. Rulings are and have been that you cannot sacrifice another Six Samurai that is also about to be destroyed. When Dark Hole is activated, both Shi En and Kizan face imminent destruction. You cannot choose Kizan as a replacement as he is already about to be destroyed. Your only option is to negate the activation of Dark Hole with Shi En's first effect. This is different to Union Monsters (say Machina Fortress equipped with Machina Gearframe with Black Rose Dragon's effect activating), where their effects are mandatory must protect their host monster. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CommanderVolt Posted February 13, 2011 Report Share Posted February 13, 2011 Question: Will Reptilanne Naga's effect to turn the ATK of monsters it battled with to 0 be prevented by the effects of Angel 07? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.