Jump to content

Yu-Gi-Oh! Rulings Questions


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What you are thinking of is the rules of cards such as Zombie Master, which can discard a Zombie, and Special Summon that same zombie. In that case, it is because the cost is paid before a target is selected. However, even in that case, you need a valid target already in the graveyard.

 

Machina Fortress can be Summoned for the same cost from either the hand or the Graveyard, allowing you to discard itself and another Machine to Special Summon. This is because Fortress can be Summoned from either the hand OR the Graveyard, without regard to where it was originally when the effect activated.

 

Fishborg's effect can only be activated from the graveyard, because its effect states it is Summoned from the Graveyard. If it is in your hand, it is not in the Graveyard. The action cannot take place if the basic condition (Fishborg being in the Graveyard) is not fulfilled PRIOR to activating the effect. Similar in principle to Zombie Master and Lumina, an effect cannot be activated if the condition, such as a valid target, is not present at the time of activation, even if activating it and paying the cost will then enable the action to be performed. The game cannot assume the card you discard is Fishborg any more than Zombie Master can assume the Monster you discard is a level four or below Zombie.

 

Likewise, if you have a card that prevents Special Summons, you cannot attempt to Special Summon, even if doing the Summon (like a Synchro Summon using Fossil Dyna) will remove the restriction. To activate any effect, the activation conditions must be met.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

if it is your opponent's turn, they attack a light monster you control, you use Honest's effect to raise your monster's ATK, can your opponent then decide to abort the attack?

 

No, they cannot. The only time a replay can occur is during the Battle Step, when an effect activates after the turn player declared the attack, but before the Damage Step, which modifies the monsters on the opponent's side of the field. Activating Honest does not change any of currently available targets on the field.

 

Also, Honest activates during the Damage Step, where its too late for a replay to occur. Replays occur during the Battle Step when the attack is declared, before the Damage Step begins.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You know Stardust Dragon . you can (1) tribute it, (2) negate a card, and (3) Special Summon it during the End Phase. Now, I know that the 1st part is a cost and the 2nd part is its effect, but what's the 3rd part considered? Is it considered an effect?

 

For instance, if Stardust negates something, then during the EP it attempts to be Summoned, can the effect of Perfect Herald be chained during the EP?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You know Stardust Dragon . you can (1) tribute it, (2) negate a card, and (3) Special Summon it during the End Phase. Now, I know that the 1st part is a cost and the 2nd part is its effect, but what's the 3rd part considered? Is it considered an effect?

 

For instance, if Stardust negates something, then during the EP it attempts to be Summoned, can the effect of Perfect Herald be chained during the EP?

 

Quick: You can Tribute this card to negate the activation of a Spell Card, Trap Card, or Effect Monster's effect that destroys a card(s) on the field, and destroy that card.

 

Trigger: If you negate an effect this way, you can Special Summon this card from your Graveyard during the End Phase.

 

Yes, Herald of Perfection can negate Stardust Dragon's effect which Special Summons itself.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Quick: You can Tribute this card to negate the activation of a Spell Card, Trap Card, or Effect Monster's effect that destroys a card(s) on the field, and destroy that card.

 

Trigger: If you negate an effect this way, you can Special Summon this card from your Graveyard during the End Phase.

 

Yes, Herald of Perfection can negate Stardust Dragon's effect which Special Summons itself.

 

Thanks for this clarification .. Ran into it while testing the Perfect Herald Deck and lost because my opponent said I couldn't negate Stardust, since the Special Summon is not considered an effect activation or something like that ..

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Karakuri Bushi mdl 6318 "Muzanichiha":

 

Effect: This card must attack if able. If this faceup attack position card is selected as an attack target, switch it to defense position. If another "Karakuri" monster on the field is destroyed, this card gains 400 ATK.

 

What happens if two other Karakuri are destroyed simultaneously, such as by the effect of, say, Icarus Attack? Does it gain 400 or 800?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Karakuri Bushi mdl 6318 "Muzanichiha":

 

Effect: This card must attack if able. If this faceup attack position card is selected as an attack target, switch it to defense position. If another "Karakuri" monster on the field is destroyed, this card gains 400 ATK.

 

What happens if two other Karakuri are destroyed simultaneously, such as by the effect of, say, Icarus Attack? Does it gain 400 or 800?

 

I'm pretty sure it would only gain 400 ATK, as it doesn't say "for each monster destroyed"; best example I can give right now (there are better, but I can't think) is Garoth, LS Warrior (which activates its effect whenever a card is sent from the top of the Deck to the Grave); it doesn't matter if multiple cards are sent, its effect only activates once

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Karakuri Bushi mdl 6318 "Muzanichiha":

 

Effect: This card must attack if able. If this faceup attack position card is selected as an attack target, switch it to defense position. If another "Karakuri" monster on the field is destroyed, this card gains 400 ATK.

 

What happens if two other Karakuri are destroyed simultaneously, such as by the effect of, say, Icarus Attack? Does it gain 400 or 800?

 

It will only gain 400 ATK.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This isn't really a question of gameplay, but more of rarity.

 

Between ultimate and secret rares, which are generally rarer or more valuable? I tend to get both of them at the same ratio, and it's been unanswered to me for some time.

 

Basically, Common<Rare<Super<Ultra<Secret<Ulti<Ghost, or what?

 

Common is lowest, having no foil whatsoever.

 

Rare is next, with silver name.

 

Super comes next, with a holo picture, no name foil.

 

Ultra is next, with gold name, holo picture.

 

Secret is next, with sparkled foil on name and sparkle holo.

 

Ghost is last. I have never seen one, so I cannot describe, but only one card in the set has the chance to be a ghost rare, typically the cover card.

 

Ultimate is a strange case. Every rare in the pack, at last check, can also come as an ultimate rare. An ultimate rare is worth more than the usual rarity, but its actual value heavily depends on the value and rarity of the card itself. An ultimate rare that's normally a regular rare is worth less than an ultimate rare that's normally an ultra rare. I do not believe a Secret Rare is capable of coming as an ultimate, but I have not confirmed this.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...