darkwolf777 Posted October 26, 2010 Report Share Posted October 26, 2010 is it tru Konami is changing effect of darksoul. Time for a wolf rant, sorta :o In any case, what he said in the video we had some info about well before x.o From the topics that were out around the time the rulings were mentioned, it would seem to have been official, yet not properly ruled yet for that tournament. Before "Darksoul" had the "multiple use per turn" effect, I knew it was a very bad case of BKSS because I myself never would've ruled it that way (sure, I think so highly of myself, being just a regular yugimonz player, but being a logic whore, things that do not make sense based on set guidelines annoy me). Konami of America sucks at wording/ruling their own cards since they don't understand how the OCG would rule them, so stuff like this happens. I knew Japan would've allow Darksoul to work that way once they got their hands on it. Go back above to what I mentioned a few posts ago, Trigger Effects have 4 parts: "Activation Condition", "Timing", "Resolution Condition", "Effect". "If" represents a Condition. "When" represents Timing. The way TCG previously ruled it, they made "If" the Timing, which is incorrect. Darksoul should split up as: 1) Condition for Activation: "If this card you control was sent to the Graveyard".2) Timing for Activation: "During the End Phase".3) Condition for Resolution: None4) Effect: "You can add 1 "X-Saber" monster from your Deck to your Hand." Meaning If Darksoul was sent from your side of the field to the Graveyard (and of course stays in the Graveyard), then During the End Phase, you can add 1 "X-Saber" monster from your Deck to your Hand. If that Darksoul leaves the Graveyard, then it no longer is considered to have been "sent from your side of the field to the Graveyard" which is why its condition is no longer valid. Conditions are just that: A Condition. "Is it True or False? If True, then the Trigger can happen. If False, then it cannot". It was never meant to be the Trigger or else "When" should have been used for "When this card you control is sent to the Graveyard", but then the effect would've had to be extrapolated for it to work the way the TCG had it. The way the old Darksoul worked should've had the following lore: Broken TCG XX-Saber DarksoulWhen this card you control is sent to the Graveyard, this effect activates. If this effect resolves successfully, you can add 1 "X-Saber" monster from your Deck to your Hand during the End Phase of this turn. If it were worded like that, then Darksoul could stay how it is. For now, its good that its getting changed, only because I dislike the TCG's inability to rule the cards they create themselves. >_>; tl;dr, No, they aren't changing the effect of Darksoul. They are fixing their mistake of ruling it so poorly versus its own card lore. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The ReBeL Posted October 26, 2010 Report Share Posted October 26, 2010 ok so up until november everyone with sabers can still stack until then right. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 26, 2010 Report Share Posted October 26, 2010 ok so up until november everyone with sabers can still stack until then right. I don't know. I don't know when official ruling changes tend to be released by Konami since I don't follow the TCG that closely. That would be a better question fielded to someone who pays more attention to it. It seems highly likely to happen due to the letters from the Head Judges from the other topic so I would assume it'll happen eventually. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sephiroth_The_Legend Posted October 26, 2010 Report Share Posted October 26, 2010 so, your saying, that Darksoul can only activate 1 time per end phase, regardless of how many times it's sent there. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 26, 2010 Report Share Posted October 26, 2010 so, your saying, that Darksoul can only activate 1 time per end phase, regardless of how many times it's sent there. Correct. That's how I would've ruled it and it seems that's how Japan would like it ruled that way. Again, its due to the wording the TCG card uses. "If" represents a Condition, and "If this card is sent to the Graveyard" is a condition, not a Trigger. Well, you just have to wait until Konami says something of the sort >_> I have no right to say something will happen, just how I think they should and would like to happen lol. Assuming that info from the judges in the one topic was correct, it would seem it will be eventually. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sephiroth_The_Legend Posted October 26, 2010 Report Share Posted October 26, 2010 hmm, most saber players i've seen lately seem to only use it once, they go pashuul for stardust and stuff.... poor darksoul. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The ReBeL Posted October 26, 2010 Report Share Posted October 26, 2010 yea so they say offically in November it will or wont change. So everyone sell other copies of it.!!!! or just use darksoul as many times as possible. lol yea so they say offically in November it will or wont change. So everyone sell other copies of it.!!!! or just use darksoul as many times as possible. lol Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
♥告げ口心臓♥ Posted October 27, 2010 Report Share Posted October 27, 2010 The Wikia offers the following rulings on Vampire Lord's effect: "Vampire Lord" will only return to play with his effect when the owner controls it, because "Vampire Lord" must be "destroyed and sent to YOUR Graveyard".When "Vampire Lord" is destroyed (by a card effect) while in your hand, in your Deck, or on the field, he will be Special Summoned in your next Standby Phase. Now, at first glance the two rulings to not appear to be contradictory. Once would presume that Vampire Lord's effect will activate any time it is destroyed and sent to your Graveyard (be it from the hand, Deck, or field), UNLESS your opponent controlled it. However, the most recent errata which incorporates the first ruling clearly contradicts the second: If this card is destroyed and sent from your field to your Graveyard by your opponent's card effect, it is Special Summoned to your side of the field during your next Standby Phase. Normally I'd assume that rulings take precedence over printed effects; however, since the most recent errata was clearly meant to address a new ruling, yet contradicts another ruling which is still listed as current, I'm not sure which is supposed to be correct. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 27, 2010 Report Share Posted October 27, 2010 If Vampire Lord has been officially errata'd to read "from your field", then that is the correct effect and takes precendence over previous erratas. I expect that the rulings on Wiki or wherever haven't been updated. I have not seen the errata in question. Which version/print has this errata? If this errata is official, then V-Lord will no longer be able to revive itself if killed in the hand by a Virus card or similar. However, it does clarify the rules regarding the controller. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
♥告げ口心臓♥ Posted October 27, 2010 Report Share Posted October 27, 2010 If Vampire Lord has been officially errata'd to read "from your field", then that is the correct effect and takes precendence over previous erratas. I expect that the rulings on Wiki or wherever haven't been updated. I have not seen the errata in question. Which version/print has this errata? If this errata is official, then V-Lord will no longer be able to revive itself if killed in the hand by a Virus card or similar. However, it does clarify the rules regarding the controller. The errata in question is found on the version from the Kaiba Duelist Pack. I was confused because the Wikia lists the same source (Netrep) for both rulings and I assumed both were current, but only one is supported by the errata so I wasn't sure if something was left out of the printed effect by mistake. So am I to understand that the Netrep rulings are out of date? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 27, 2010 Report Share Posted October 27, 2010 I dont think netrep has been updated with the newest errata, so the rulings still apply for the errata they have. If there's a new errata, the rulings change. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EHN. Posted October 27, 2010 Report Share Posted October 27, 2010 Thanks for the help so far darkwolf. Just another question. Say, If my opponent attacked me with anything, I activate Jar of Greed and draw a kuriboh, I miss the timing to ditch kuriboh right? Also, if I summon Gorz after a direct attack, and the opponent activates Torrential Tribute before I summon the token, do I still get the token? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 27, 2010 Report Share Posted October 27, 2010 1- Jar of Greed is activated before Damage Calculation, and Kuriboh's timing is after Damage Calculation, but before the damage is inflicted. Activating Jar to an attack (before it "hits") means you'll have Kuriboh before it "hits", so you can discard it to reduce the damage to 0. 2- Torrential cannot be activated during the Damage Step (the stage when Damage is calculated and inflicted), which is when Gorz's effect activates. You get Gorz and the token, and Torrential cannot be used against either summon. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EHN. Posted October 27, 2010 Report Share Posted October 27, 2010 Oh, thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
byak Posted October 27, 2010 Report Share Posted October 27, 2010 http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Blackwing_-_Kochi_the_Daybreak condition or effect? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 28, 2010 Report Share Posted October 28, 2010 It appears to be a Continuous Effect, because it only has the catch when a certain trigger is involved (Special Summoning). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 28, 2010 Report Share Posted October 28, 2010 http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Blackwing_-_Kochi_the_Daybreak condition or effect? From what I can gather, card effects which specify or limit its use as a Synchro Material Monster or Fusion Material Monster are not considered effects but are conditions for its use in said Synchro/Fusion Summon. My guess would be that even if Kochi is negated, so long as it was Special Summoned, it cannot be used as a Synchro Material Monster. This would mean that Kochi has no effects (This would not be a Continuous Effect), only a condition of use as a Synchro Material Monster. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 28, 2010 Report Share Posted October 28, 2010 However, I based my thought on Vayu, which can't be used for a Synchro when it's on the field, but can if it's effect is negated. True, Vayu specifies while on the field, and Kochi has a specific instance of its use being limited. Most other restrictions have it at all times. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darkwolf777 Posted October 28, 2010 Report Share Posted October 28, 2010 However, I based my thought on Vayu, which can't be used for a Synchro when it's on the field, but can if it's effect is negated. True, Vayu specifies while on the field, and Kochi has a specific instance of its use being limited. Most other restrictions have it at all times. Vayu says it cannot be used for a Synchro Summon, not that it can't be used as a Synchro Material Monster. Maybe that's just being picky with words as both would technically mean the same thing, but might actually be enough to be different. Also, "You" aren't allowed to use Vayu for a Synchro Summon. That means this applies to you. It does not apply to Vayu. Most cards that are used for conditions state "This card" and specifically "Synchro/Fusion Material Monster" which Kochi does indeed state. Kochi could be like Vayu, where it has its own "Condition" for whether it is usable for a Synchro Summon meaning Kochi has the "If this card was Special Summoned" part, but having a condition is what a lot of "cannot be used as a Synchro Material Monster" has, just not in that format. While possible, I'm not entirely convinced yet since Vayu doesn't seem to be a prime example to me due to those reasons x.x Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luis El Lincer Posted October 28, 2010 Report Share Posted October 28, 2010 if i have multiple amazoness monster on my field while AMAZONESS VILLAGE is in play and my opp activates DH do i search and spec summon for each amazoness destroyed or do i get to spec summon only one amazoness monster from my deck?? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 28, 2010 Report Share Posted October 28, 2010 Amazoness Village can only be used once per turn. You will only Special Summon one monster. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
~British Soul~ Posted October 28, 2010 Report Share Posted October 28, 2010 i was dueling a friend and he said he can use scapegoat tokens for a synchro summon can you do that? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mysty Posted October 28, 2010 Report Share Posted October 28, 2010 i was dueling a friend and he said he can use scapegoat tokens for a synchro summon can you do that? Indeed. Tokens are monsters too. Synchro Material Monsters are just considered "sent from the field" with the destination usually to the Graveyard. They may not always end up there, but that doesn't prevent tokens from being used as Synchro Material. However, your friend cannot activate Scapegoat, get its effect, and Synchro Summon in the same turn - Scapegoat prevents that. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
~British Soul~ Posted October 28, 2010 Report Share Posted October 28, 2010 Indeed. Tokens are monsters too. Synchro Material Monsters are just considered "sent from the field" with the destination usually to the Graveyard. They may not always end up there, but that doesn't prevent tokens from being used as Synchro Material. However, your friend cannot activate Scapegoat, get its effect, and Synchro Summon in the same turn - Scapegoat prevents that.but because it was a quick-play spell, he used it in my main phase 2 or used it to chain during my turn Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted October 28, 2010 Report Share Posted October 28, 2010 Yeah, so long as it wasn't the same turn it was activated, using Scapegoat tokens for a Synchro is legal. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.