Azuh Posted February 18, 2016 Report Share Posted February 18, 2016 (This card is also always treated as "Legendary Dragon Timaeus".)Target 1 "Dark Magician" monster you control; Fusion Summon 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck that lists that monster on the field as a Fusion Material Monster, using it as the Fusion Material. You can only activate 1 "The Eye of Timaeus" per turn. So, in reference to my other topic about Dedication Through Light and Darkness, I want to talk about the Eye of Timaeus. Why? From what I believe, this card WILL NOT be searchable through the new Dark Magician support. Buy why Azuh? The reason here is that the card states "Dark Magician" monster, not "Dark Magician" specifically. The new support tends to only say "Dark Magician" I could be wrong on this, but I believe we might see some new translations/TCG prints on the new Dark Magician support saying "that specifically lists "Dark Magician" in its text". That way, it clears up confusion about Eye of Timaeus being support for the Deck Discuss Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
玄魔の王 Posted February 18, 2016 Report Share Posted February 18, 2016 This is definitely one of those "wait for rulings" dealies since it's an effect rather unlike most others. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted February 18, 2016 Report Share Posted February 18, 2016 It says "Dark Magician" monster because Dark Magician Girl is a valid target, due to DMG the Dragon Knight. The other support tends to just say "Dark Magician", referring to the specifically named card. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
玄魔の王 Posted February 18, 2016 Report Share Posted February 18, 2016 It says "Dark Magician" monster because Dark Magician Girl is a valid target, due to DMG the Dragon Knight. The other support tends to just say "Dark Magician", referring to the specifically named card.We know, but it creates confusion as to whether or not this card works with the search stuff, because initial translations aren't always clear on the matter. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted February 18, 2016 Report Share Posted February 18, 2016 Is it still around 40 USD? Should I sell mine?The card should have been printed way more than it did.... No Dark Magician Stuff has had an actual impact on the game since, well... only DMoC ever did...... so yeah, throw us a bone Konami....Btw, the only Legendary Dragon art that doesn't resemble the one from the anime... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
~British Soul~ Posted February 18, 2016 Report Share Posted February 18, 2016 Btw, the only Legendary Dragon art that doesn't resemble the one from the anime...Actually, Hermos had different art from the anime as well. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepy Posted February 19, 2016 Report Share Posted February 19, 2016 Actually, Hermos had different art from the anime as well. *goes check*Its true.... =0 !Though Timaeus is still an oddball because its just the head in the art... Hmm weird... YCM did not notify me that this reply had happened, and I instead found it by chance... I wonder if something changed in my settings or something.... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
~British Soul~ Posted February 19, 2016 Report Share Posted February 19, 2016 *goes check*Its true.... =0 !Though Timaeus is still an oddball because its just the head in the art... Hmm weird... YCM did not notify me that this reply had happened, and I instead found it by chance... I wonder if something changed in my settings or something....It is because it probs made people assume that the other two's art would be like that as well. I'll tell you why you didn't get a notification, it's because I manually typed the code for the quote. (You will get one for this post though) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
asterr259 Posted February 22, 2016 Report Share Posted February 22, 2016 I hope it does. Konami tends to come up with silly/contradicting rulings anyway. While of course cards like Dark Burning Attack won't work for Magician's Rod, I think Timaeus should still work. Illusion Magic asks for 2 "Dark Magicians" even though there's no such card and it's just referring to plural. I dunno, I just assume there would be some leniency. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slinky Posted February 22, 2016 Report Share Posted February 22, 2016 Needs a reprint.Really badly. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryusei the Morning Star Posted March 30, 2016 Report Share Posted March 30, 2016 Sadly it turned out Azuh was right. Eyes of Timaeus is not searchable with the new support (atleast in OCG) therefore the dreams of Dark Paladin control have ended. That being said, we do have another Quick-play confirmed for TDIL so maybe something good will come out of the support From the Org1) Sangan’s text has been changed, as we have covered earlier. You only get its effect once per turn, and you are limited as to how you can use that card.2) Some of the Dark Magician support from TDIL only works with a few cards. Rule of thumb: It works with things that name Dark Magician, Dark Magician Girl is not ‘Dark Magician’ (despite being a “Dark Magician” monster), and it doesn’t work with Eye of Timaeus. Why doesn’t it work with Eye of Timaeus? Because Timaeus uses a different clause (not ‘Dark Magician’ by its own name, but rather just something whose name contains “Dark Magician”). We don’t know how this clause will be excluded in the TCG yet, so I am using our current translation for this clause. 3)Yes, there is an additional Quick-Play Spell Card to be released in The Dark Illusion. Its name is 黒魔導強化 (read as “Magic Expand”, with the meaning being something like Black Magic Strenghtening), and it works like the other support cards, from what we can tell from that chart. At the time this article is being posted, the card has not been revealed neither officially or through leaks. Just be patient, it will be out soon Illusion Magic (Quick-Play Spell)Knight’s Title (Normal Spell)Dark Magic Circle (Continuous Spell)Dark Magic Curtain (Normal Spell)Sage’s Stone (Normal Spell)Thousand Knives (Normal Spell)Dedication through Light and Darkness (Quick-Play Spell)Dark Burning Magic (Quick-Play Spell)Dark Magic Attack (Normal Spell)黒魔導強化 (Magic Expand) (Quick-Play Spell)Magic Formula (Equip Spell)Eternal Soul (Continuous Trap)Miracle Restoring (Normal Trap)Magician’s Navigate (Normal Trap) The “‘Dark Magician’ monster” written in The Eye of Timaeus is not “the card name ‘Dark Magician'”. That being said, DMoC turbo w/ Dedication seems like the best course of action. Prisma might be useful in this endevor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
evilfusion Posted March 30, 2016 Report Share Posted March 30, 2016 Interesting. Presumably, TCG will include a clause like "that specifically lists Dark Magician". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryusei the Morning Star Posted March 30, 2016 Report Share Posted March 30, 2016 Interesting. Presumably, TCG will include a clause like "that specifically lists Dark Magician".Maybe, or they could pull a Black Horn or LaDD and contradict OCG till they reprint it (lol) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neochu-H Posted March 30, 2016 Report Share Posted March 30, 2016 Interesting. Presumably, TCG will include a clause like "that specifically lists Dark Magician". but no one on DN is gonna understand that anyway :D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchi Posted March 30, 2016 Report Share Posted March 30, 2016 That seemed obvious to me from the get-go. Otherwise, it'd be worded as "a spell/trap card that includes 'Dark Magician' in its card text", instead of "mentions" or "lists". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.