Jump to content

Celtic Sacred Guard


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 4 weeks later...

Not Noble Knight, Noble Arms.

 

Big difference.

 

Yeah, it's pretty weird. But I guess Link is pretty enough for the knights to equip.

 

if you know what I mean.

 

wink wink

 

 

;)

 

Link has embraced the order of Noble Armz, but yeah, sorry my error on that.

 

Ignoble Knight of Black Laundsallyn can search him I guess, but unlike Eatos where you could use Avalon to get Eatos to extraordinary high levels of attack 4game, I see little to no senergy with this card however poor

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I suppose you could go Unexpected Dai + This card summoning Obnoxious from hand, and either Obnoxious or OG Celtic being Inferno Reckless Summoned. That'd give you 5 of them in one go and still leave 2 cards in hand.

 

Needs more than this, and I would have preferred something that could work with a retrain of Mystical Elf, because Elves seemed like a theme back in the era of vanillas and they seemed like homage to Zelda and Link in Yugi's deck.

 

but give them an archetype (as said above) and it could go somewhere..... maybe..... the "no hand" makes it very fragile..

 

EDIT:
Here's new art for future Celtic Guardian versions and whatnot :v
(image is link to the original artist's)
 1e304k.jpg

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I suppose you could go Unexpected Dai + This card summoning Obnoxious from hand, and either Obnoxious or OG Celtic being Inferno Reckless Summoned. That'd give you 5 of them in one go and still leave 2 cards in hand.

 

Needs more than this, and I would have preferred something that could work with a retrain of Mystical Elf, because Elves seemed like a theme back in the era of vanillas and they seemed like homage to Zelda and Link in Yugi's deck.

 

but give them an archetype (as said above) and it could go somewhere..... maybe..... the "no hand" makes it very fragile..

It could also work a rudimentary (and kinda terrible) draw engine for NK since he can special himself

 

He just doesn't bring enough to the table IMHO

Link to comment
Share on other sites

聖剣(せいけん) -> Noble Arms/Holy Sword
エルフの剣士(けんし) -> Celtic Guard/Elf Swordsman

エルフの剣士(けんし) -> Celtic Guardian
聖剣(せいけん)ガラティーン -> Noble Arms - Gallatin
エルフの(せいけん)(けんし) -> Celtic Sacred Guard

Basically what happened here, is that part of Celtic Guard's Kana becomes 'Noble Arms' if you add 1 character to it.
Guess they wanted to include it in the Noble Arms' set just for gits and shiggles.
 
And I assume the IRL name will be something like "Celtic Guard of Noble Arms".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

聖剣(せいけん) -> Noble Arms/Holy Sword

エルフの剣士(けんし) -> Celtic Guard/Elf Swordsman

 

エルフの剣士(けんし) -> Celtic Guardian

聖剣(せいけん)ガラティーン -> Noble Arms - Gallatin

エルフの(せいけん)(けんし) -> Celtic Sacred Guard

 

Basically what happened here, is that part of Celtic Guard's Kana becomes 'Noble Arms' if you add 1 character to it.

Guess they wanted to include it in the Noble Arms' set just for gits and shiggles.

 

And I assume the IRL name will be something like "Celtic Guard of Noble Arms".

It infuriates me they can pull this cute sheet, but can't be troubled to make things like Red Eyes Black Chick a red eyes monster >_______________>

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It infuriates me they can pull this cute sheet, but can't be troubled to make things like Red Eyes Black Chick a red eyes monster >_______________>

レッドアイズ -> Red-Eyes

レッドアイズ・ブラックドラゴン -> Red-Eyes B. Dragon

こくりゅうのひな -> Red-Eyes B. Chick

It's hard to understand why it's called "Red-Eyes B. Chick", when it's not even actually named Red-Eyes in the first place.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

レッドアイズ -> Red-Eyes

レッドアイズ・ブラックドラゴン -> Red-Eyes B. Dragon

こくりゅうのひな -> Red-Eyes B. Chick

It's hard to understand why it's called "Red-Eyes B. Chick", when it's not even actually named Red-Eyes in the first place.

Like what god damn combo does Chick being a Red Eyes or Frog the Jam being a frog create...it's stupid and annoying. Sure TCG funked up the name, but it's red eyes support in the least...also Zaborg not being a monarch is wtf as well...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A lot of issues with archetypal confusion is PURELY because the English name and such was given prior to that word being an archetypal designation. Hence why support cards tend to say "Except 'Frog the Jam', etc". When Frog the Jam was made in English, "Frog" wasn't an archetype, so it didn't matter that the Japanese name translated slightly differently.

 

Why do you think we had that issue with certain cards being retroactively labeled as "Archfiends"? Because until DCR, "Archfiend" wasn't an archetype. And sometimes, archetypes don't focus on names, but rather on stats, so the actual mislabeled names don't matter until there's suddenly cards that say "Wait, we care about the name of certain cards now".

 

Red-Eyes B. Chick wasn't a Red-Eyes monster, but it supported Red-Eyes, which is why the English name called it a "Red-Eyes" monster. Now suddenly, Red-Eyes IS an archetype, so now the new support cards that only work with Red-Eyes monsters/cards have to specifically exclude B. Chick because it was never part of the "archetype" in the first place.

 

This issue doesn't really exist in Japan because of how their system works, where the absence of a character makes it a completely different word or whatever, so the designation is more obvious (to them), but English doesn't have a system that vast to be able to throw in a hundred puns and such that nevertheless dodge being mislabeled as part of an archetype.

 

The TCG versions designate them as not part of the archetype for the sake of rules consistency. Those cards were never intended to be compatible with Archetype Support Card Z, so they're not.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A lot of issues with archetypal confusion is PURELY because the English name and such was given prior to that word being an archetypal designation. Hence why support cards tend to say "Except 'Frog the Jam', etc". When Frog the Jam was made in English, "Frog" wasn't an archetype, so it didn't matter that the Japanese name translated slightly differently.

 

Why do you think we had that issue with certain cards being retroactively labeled as "Archfiends"? Because until DCR, "Archfiend" wasn't an archetype. And sometimes, archetypes don't focus on names, but rather on stats, so the actual mislabeled names don't matter until there's suddenly cards that say "Wait, we care about the name of certain cards now".

 

Red-Eyes B. Chick wasn't a Red-Eyes monster, but it supported Red-Eyes, which is why the English name called it a "Red-Eyes" monster. Now suddenly, Red-Eyes IS an archetype, so now the new support cards that only work with Red-Eyes monsters/cards have to specifically exclude B. Chick because it was never part of the "archetype" in the first place.

 

This issue doesn't really exist in Japan because of how their system works, where the absence of a character makes it a completely different word or whatever, so the designation is more obvious (to them), but English doesn't have a system that vast to be able to throw in a hundred puns and such that nevertheless dodge being mislabeled as part of an archetype.

 

The TCG versions designate them as not part of the archetype for the sake of rules consistency. Those cards were never intended to be compatible with Archetype Support Card Z, so they're not.

Well my question is, now that Red Eyes is an archetype, why not simply make Black Chick a Red Eyes monster? More Invasive errata's have been done afterall?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Personally, I think it's pretty cool how Monarchs have no direct name support, and a lot of there cards are generic/semi-generic/etc.

Gives them more room to work/lets you play other cards with them/etc.

It's quite nice.

My Ocd largely disagrees with you on that regard. You know what all this is indicative of? Early YGO creators thought that the game had no future, they didn't plan anything. It was a short run buck making scheme. That's why 80% of the banlist is from that era, and why all these stupid logic holes are from that era. They didn't know what they were doing, and largely didn't give a f*** either

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Well my question is, now that Red Eyes is an archetype, why not simply make Black Chick a Red Eyes monster? More Invasive errata's have been done afterall?

 

Probably just for the sake of consistency. I don't think I've ever seen a case of a card being errata'd to include it in an archetype that it wasn't technically a part of. I've seen the TCG fix mislabels when Term A became an archetype (Wattkid, Amazoness Archer, etc), but I can't think of a time when either OCG or TCG just up and changed a card to include it in an archetype it was never supposed to be in.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Probably just for the sake of consistency. I don't think I've ever seen a case of a card being errata'd to include it in an archetype that it wasn't technically a part of. I've seen the TCG fix mislabels when Term A became an archetype (Wattkid, Amazoness Archer, etc), but I can't think of a time when either OCG or TCG just up and changed a card to include it in an archetype it was never supposed to be in.

No, but until DSF it's not like they errata'd cards to pull em off the list. And remember the ORG had a huge list of errata's. Might have happened tbh, I'll check

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...