Jump to content

Shiranui Style: Sword of Swallow (907)


Recommended Posts

Another reason to consider Shiranui Priest as a tech in non-Shiranui Zombie decks.

And yeah, it looks like you must be able to banish a Shiranui to activate and resolve the effect. I wish the second effect was optional; an Icarus Attack for Zombie with Shiranui support as bonus wouldn't have been game-breaking in my opinion.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Based on the wording we have so far, that would be correct, it doesn't say "you can" at any point, so you must be able to do so to activate the card.

Scrapstorm:

Target 1 "Scrap" monster you control; send 1 "Scrap" monster from your Deck to the Graveyard, then draw 1 card, then destroy that monster.

Ruling:

 

>>>

None of these effects are simultaneous. You send 1 “Scrap” monster to the Graveyard, then, if you did, you draw a card. Afterwards, you destroy the selected monster.

 

>>>

Even if the targeted monster is no longer face-up on the field when Scrapstorm resolves, you still send a “Scrap” monster to the Graveyard and draw a card

Storm doesn't state that the monster has to be destroyed, it's just something that can happen, if it can happen.

Which is what I'm getting at.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You misunderstand.

 

In order you activate scrapstorm in the first place, there must be a scrap monster on field to satisfy the target.  If that target leaves the field it's because something caused that to happen earlier in the chain link

 

However, Scrapstorm states the destruction as the 3rd thing to happen, in sequence.  Since the other 2 sequences don't depend on the target, Scrapstorm resolves everything up to the incompatible effect.  That means if there was a 4th effect after the destruction (hypothetically on the same card), effects 1 and 2 would resolve, but effect 3 cannot resolve, and so potential effects 4, 5, etc cannot resolve with it, as the sequence is broken.

 

But the initial target still had to exist on the field when you activated Scrapstorm.

 

Same thing with this card.  Since all the sequences are mandatory, in order for the activation to be legal, a Shiranui must be present in the deck.  Now if the Shiranui somehow leaves your deck before this card's Chain Link, and you have no further targets, the first effect will resolve, as it is not dependent on the shiranui's presence.  However, the banish effect cannot possibly resolve, so any further resolution stops there

Link to comment
Share on other sites

You misunderstand.

 

In order you activate scrapstorm in the first place, there must be a scrap monster on field to satisfy the target.  If that target leaves the field it's because something caused that to happen earlier in the chain link

 

However, Scrapstorm states the destruction as the 3rd thing to happen, in sequence.  Since the other 2 sequences don't depend on the target, Scrapstorm resolves everything up to the incompatible effect.  That means if there was a 4th effect after the destruction (hypothetically on the same card), effects 1 and 2 would resolve, but effect 3 cannot resolve, and so potential effects 4, 5, etc cannot resolve with it, as the sequence is broken.

 

But the initial target still had to exist on the field when you activated Scrapstorm.

 

Same thing with this card.  Since all the sequences are mandatory, in order for the activation to be legal, a Shiranui must be present in the deck.  Now if the Shiranui somehow leaves your deck before this card's Chain Link, and you have no further targets, the first effect will resolve, as it is not dependent on the shiranui's presence.  However, the banish effect cannot possibly resolve, so any further resolution stops there

Oh I see what you mean.

 

What I don't understand is why Armz thinks that Ruling is relevant here.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Oh I see what you mean.

 

What I don't understand is why Armz thinks that Ruling is relevant here.

 

Lel sorry zaz that was directed at armz.  U Ninja'ed me and I didn't see it kek.

 

The point is it's not relevant.  That's what I was trying to show by explaining the ruling on Scrapstorm.

 

The TL:DR version of what I was saying is that in YuGiOh, if a sequence of effects is mandatory, then every single one of them must be able to be fulfilled, at least at the initial activation

Link to comment
Share on other sites

There he goes being a self conflicted Mod again

What?

 

You're literally one of the worst f***ing posters here. Don't give yuya s*** because you refuse to listen to the rules kid.

 

 

ON TOPIC of the card, I guess I can say that as long as Shiranui get support that handles with their banished cards they have the opportunity to be a good deck. Hopefully they'll follow through because they made this card :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What?

 

You're literally one of the worst f***ing posters here. Don't give yuya s*** because you refuse to listen to the rules kid.

 

 

ON TOPIC of the card, I guess I can say that as long as Shiranui get support that handles with their banished cards they have the opportunity to be a good deck. Hopefully they'll follow through because they made this card :)

 

I mean....we were done talking about it.  And honestly singling him out like that makes you just as bad if not worse.

 

Honestly people, just stuff it and move on.  It's posts like these that give evilfusion headaches

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I mean....we were done talking about it.  And honestly singling him out like that makes you just as bad if not worse.

 

Honestly people, just stuff it and move on.  It's posts like these that give evilfusion headaches

 

Yeh my bad.

 

I just REALLY hate when someone tries to attack people because they don't listen to the rules. (Especially if said person that was attacked is an innocent person)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...